MessyPigGet the list

Last checked 1 September 2026

Everything we’ve checked

16 products. The score measures what the manufacturer publishes, not how safe the product is — a low score means they won’t tell you, not that something is wrong.

Read this before the table

We do not run laboratory tests. Every claim under “what we’d want you to know” carries a numbered link to the manufacturer’s own page, a published lab certificate, a regulator’s decision, a court filing or the reporting on one. Open the panel and check us. The rubric is here.

Where a field says UNVERIFIED, it means we looked and the maker does not publish it. We would rather leave a hole than fill one in.

Prices move. These were read on 1 September 2026 and several were sale prices. Check before you buy. Nothing on this page is an affiliate link — we are not currently in any affiliate programme, and when that changes it will say so here first.

Cookware · 7 checked

ProductDisclosureWhat they claimMade inPrice
Xtrema Classic Skillet100% ceramic throughout · no coating, no metal 9/10 "Tested and certified PFOA free and PTFE free"; "No extractable lead or cadmium" China (stated) $120
9in, shown at 25% off
Maker’s page

The only brand here publishing dated, named lab certificates — SGS, against California Prop 65 lead and cadmium leaching and LFGB, going back years. One material all the way through, so there is no coating whose recipe can be a trade secret. It is also brittle, slow to heat and a specialist thing to own.

What we’d want you to know (4) & sources (6)
  • Their own site is inconsistent. The product page claims certified PFOA- and PTFE-free; the separate skillet brand page claims “Free from PFOA, PFAS’s, PTFE & coatings”. Only the narrower claim is covered by the certificates. [2]
  • The same brand page says “FDA Certified”. The FDA does not certify cookware — it regulates food-contact substances. Marketing overstatement on an otherwise well-documented brand. [2]
  • Independent tester Tamara Rubin reports, by XRF, 16,400 ppm lead on the bottom logo mark of an Xtrema Versa Pot, and 7,258 ppm on the bottom label of a Ceramcor Xtrema saucepan. We could find no published reading for this skillet, though her archive does include a Ceramcor-made frying pan sold under another brand at 14,900 ppm — so read the absence as an absence, not a clean bill. XRF measures total content in the material scanned; it does not measure what leaches into food. Xtrema’s claim is specifically “no extractable lead” and their SGS certificates are leach tests. The two measure different things. A documented dispute, not a finding either way. [4] [5] [6]
  • No maximum oven temperature published anywhere we could find. Thermal shock will crack it — their own care guidance warns against cold water and cold countertops. [1]

composition 3/3 · testing 3/3 · origin 2/2 · claim precision 1/2 · oven UNVERIFIED — no figure published · warranty 10 years, plus replacement promise

Sources

  1. Xtrema Classic Skillet product page
  2. Xtrema skillet brand page — the PFAS and “FDA Certified” wording
  3. Xtrema product testing — dated SGS certificates
  4. Tamara Rubin, XRF reading on the Xtrema 1.25qt Versa Pot (June 2022)
  5. Tamara Rubin, Ceramcor Xtrema saucepan update (2018)
  6. Tamara Rubin, full Xtrema testing archive
Made In Stainless Clad Frying Pan5-ply: 304 18/10 stainless, aluminium, aluminium alloy, 403 ferritic · 2.7mm 8/10 Made without "PFAS PFOA PTFE Lead Cadmium BPA" Italy and the US (not broken down) $119.99
10in, listed from $139
Maker’s page

Publishes the actual build — five plies, named alloys, a thickness in millimetres. Almost nobody else does. Uncoated stainless, so there is no coating to be evasive about. The best everyday pan on this page, and our pick if you want one thing that will outlast you.

What we’d want you to know (3) & sources (3)
  • Says it was third-party tested under European food-contact regulations and gives a report number, but does not name the laboratory or publish the report. [1]
  • “Made in Italy and the US” is not broken down by component. [1]
  • A 2023 class action over “PFOA free” and “100% non-toxic” claims concerned Made In’s non-stick line, not this pan. The plaintiffs voluntarily dismissed it with prejudice in April 2025 — there was no ruling on the merits, and the fullest public account of it is Made In’s own blog post. [2] [3]

composition 3/3 · testing 2/3 · origin 1/2 · claim precision 2/2 · oven 800°F · warranty Lifetime, defects

Sources

  1. Made In Stainless Clad Frying Pan, 10 inch
  2. Made In’s own account of the 2023 lawsuit
  3. Complaint coverage, Elseroad v. Boston Foundry (W.D. Tex.)
Lodge Classic Cast Iron SkilletCast iron · seasoned with “100% natural vegetable oil”, species not named 6/10 "Nontoxic cookware made without PFAS" USA — South Pittsburg, TN $24.90
10.25in
Maker’s page

One material, made in Tennessee, $25. The claim they make — “made without PFAS” on bare cast iron — is modest and obviously true, which is refreshing. Loses a composition point for the seasoning: “100% natural vegetable oil” is a category, not a named oil, and we dock other brands for exactly that.

What we’d want you to know (3) & sources (2)
  • No third-party testing or material declaration published. [1]
  • No numeric oven or maximum heat guidance published anywhere we could find. [1]
  • The lifetime warranty is void if you put it in the dishwasher, soak it, or microwave it. It also excludes rust, pitting, sticky seasoning and flaking — which is most of what actually goes wrong with cast iron. [2]

composition 2/3 · testing 0/3 · origin 2/2 · claim precision 2/2 · oven UNVERIFIED — no figure published · warranty Limited lifetime, defects

Sources

  1. Lodge Classic Cast Iron Skillet
  2. Lodge “Made Right” warranty terms and exclusions
Caraway Ceramic Fry PanCeramic sol-gel coating on aluminium · coating recipe not published 6/10 "Made without PTFE, PFOA, PFAS, lead, and cadmium" UNVERIFIED $125
10.5in
Maker’s page

Best testing disclosure of any coated pan here: a public testing hub, a named laboratory (Light Labs) and a linked report, covering over 200 PFAS compounds and 20+ heavy metals. But the coating recipe itself is proprietary, so whatever the tests did not look for stays unknown. They do not publish total organic fluorine, which is the screening test that would catch PFAS they weren’t looking for.

What we’d want you to know (4) & sources (5)
  • No country of manufacture stated anywhere we could find — only “mindfully manufactured in BSCI-certified factories”. That is not a country. [1]
  • The warranty is one year and explicitly excludes coating deterioration from high heat, thermal shock and metal utensils — which tells you what Caraway expects to go wrong. [5]
  • August 2025: the National Advertising Division found Caraway did have a reasonable basis for its own “PFAS-free” and “non-toxic” product claims, but recommended it discontinue comparative claims disparaging competitors, including its framing of rising “Teflon flu” cases. [3]
  • February 2026: Groupe SEB and Meyer sued Caraway in the Southern District of New York for false advertising, commercial disparagement and trade libel. It is pending with no ruling. Draw nothing from it yet. Note also that Groupe SEB owns All-Clad, which is also in this table. [4]

composition 1/3 · testing 3/3 · origin 0/2 · claim precision 2/2 · oven 550°F · warranty 1 year — excludes coating damage from high heat

Sources

  1. Caraway Fry Pan product page
  2. Caraway third-party testing hub
  3. BBB National Programs — NAD decision on Caraway, August 2025
  4. Reporting on Groupe SEB and Meyer v. Caraway (filed Feb 2026)
  5. Caraway warranty terms
All-Clad D3 Stainless Fry PanTri-ply bonded: aluminium core between stainless layers · grade not stated 5/10 None made — uncoated stainless “Made in the USA with global components” $149.99
10in
Maker’s page

Makes no “non-toxic” claim at all, because it is uncoated steel and does not need to. There is something honest in that. Scores below Made In only on disclosure: it does not state the stainless grade, publishes no testing, and its origin line is “Made in the USA with global components”.

What we’d want you to know (2) & sources (3)
  • A $4M settlement over “dishwasher safe” marketing covered “All-Clad D3, D5 or LTD cookware”, with final approval heard in January 2023. The damage described — surface peeling leaving sharp edges — points at coated products rather than bare stainless, so how it applies to this pan is unclear. [2]
  • Parent company Groupe SEB is currently suing Caraway, also in this table, over its PFAS marketing. Worth knowing before you read anyone’s comparison of the two. [3]

composition 2/3 · testing 0/3 · origin 1/2 · claim precision 2/2 · oven 600°F, oven and broiler · warranty Limited lifetime

Sources

  1. All-Clad D3 10-inch fry pan
  2. Coverage of the All-Clad “dishwasher safe” $4M settlement
  3. Reporting on Groupe SEB and Meyer v. Caraway
GreenPan Valencia Pro FrypanThermolon ceramic sol-gel on hard-anodised aluminium · silicon-based 3/10 "Our PFAS-free Ceramic Nonstick is Made Without Intentionally Added PFAS" UNVERIFIED — “we own our factory” $99.99
12in, from $149.99
Maker’s page

Says more about its coating chemistry than most — silicon-based, from a sand derivative. Then undercuts it with the widest gap between claim and substantiation on this page.

What we’d want you to know (4) & sources (4)
  • The claim is written as “Our PFAS-free Ceramic Nonstick is Made Without Intentionally Added PFAS”. Those are two different claims in one sentence, and only the second one is a commitment. It permits residual PFAS from feedstock or process. [1]
  • Cites FDA, German LFGB, Swiss and KTR conformity but names no laboratory and publishes no report. [2]
  • Does not address lead or cadmium on the product page or the toxins FAQ we checked. [1]
  • A 2019 class action over “0% Toxins” and “completely toxin free” marketing ended in dismissal with prejudice. Reporting suggests a settlement; we could not verify the terms or the docket entry, and GreenPan’s own account is that it concluded “with no findings of liability and no admission of wrongdoing”. Both of those can be true at once. [3] [4]

composition 2/3 · testing 1/3 · origin 0/2 · claim precision 0/2 · oven 600°F · warranty Limited lifetime, defects

Sources

  1. GreenPan Valencia Pro 12-inch frypan
  2. GreenPan FAQ: do GreenPan products have toxins
  3. GreenPan’s own account of the 2019 lawsuit
  4. Truth in Advertising case file, Saldivar v. The Cookware Company
Our Place Always Pan (ceramic)“Thermakind” ceramic coating on recycled aluminium · composition not published 1/10 "Forever chemicals like PTFEs, PFOAs, other PFAS, as well as potentially toxic materials like lead and cadmium" UNVERIFIED $89
10.5in
Maker’s page

The strongest non-toxic marketing on this page, attached to the least published evidence we found anywhere. No lab report, no certification, no coating composition, no country of manufacture. Even the body certifying the “100% certified post-consumer recycled aluminium” is unnamed.

What we’d want you to know (3) & sources (2)
  • “Thermakind” is a trade name, not a disclosed material. [1]
  • December 2025: the law firm Migliaccio & Rathod opened a consumer investigation covering the Titanium Always Pan Pro and the Always Pan 2.0 — this pan. The allegations under investigation include chipping and flaking within about a year, and that the “PFAS-free” representation may mislead; the separate “coating-free” allegation concerns the titanium model, not this one. No lawsuit has been filed. This is a plaintiffs’ firm at solicitation stage, and should be read as exactly that. [2]
  • None of this means the pan is unsafe. It means nobody outside the company can check.

composition 1/3 · testing 0/3 · origin 0/2 · claim precision 0/2 · oven 450°F · warranty 1 year limited

Sources

  1. Our Place non-stick Always Pan page
  2. Migliaccio & Rathod investigation notice, December 2025

Lunchboxes · 4 checked

ProductDisclosureWhat they claimMade inPrice
PlanetBox Rover18/8 (304) stainless tray · 18/0 (430) stainless lid · LFGB silicone · synthetic rubber magnets 9/10 "free from lead, PVC, phthalates or BPA material" China (stated in FAQ) $43.96
on sale from $54.95
Maker’s page

Names both steel grades — including the less flattering one. The lid is 18/0, not 18/8, and they say so and explain why: the 400 series holds magnets better. Their FAQ states the products are tested by CPSC-accepted third-party laboratories against FDA, CPSC and CPSIA rules, that the silicone is LFGB grade, and that the steel is made by partners in China.

What we’d want you to know (4) & sources (2)
  • The country, the testing and the steel grades are all on PlanetBox’s FAQ page rather than the product page. Both are linked below. [2]
  • PlanetBox does not name the individual laboratories, and the “certified” recycled-content claims do not name a certifier. [2]
  • Not leak-proof by design — there are no gaskets. Nothing runny. [1]
  • Remove the magnets before washing; PlanetBox says they are not designed to get wet. [1]

composition 3/3 · testing 2/3 · origin 2/2 · claim precision 2/2 · oven Dishwasher safe · warranty 5 years steel, 1 year soft goods

Sources

  1. PlanetBox Rover product page
  2. PlanetBox FAQ — steel grades, testing, country of manufacture
LunchBots Large Cinco18/8 stainless body and lid · optional snap-on cover is plastic, resin not disclosed 4/10 "No plastic touches your food" UNVERIFIED $41.49 Maker’s page

“No plastic touches your food” is accurate — the interior really is all steel, lid included. Everything else is missing: no country of origin, no testing, and the plastic outer cover’s resin is undisclosed.

What we’d want you to know (4) & sources (2)
  • No third-party testing, certification or Prop 65 statement published that we could find. [1]
  • No country of manufacture stated on the product page, FAQ or warranty page. [1]
  • Not leak-proof. LunchBots’ own advice is to pack dry foods only. [1]
  • Lifetime warranty against manufacturing defects, which is generous for the price. [2]

composition 2/3 · testing 0/3 · origin 0/2 · claim precision 2/2 · oven Dishwasher safe, not microwave · warranty Lifetime, defects

Sources

  1. LunchBots Large Cinco product page
  2. LunchBots warranty terms
ECOlunchbox Three-in-One GiantStainless steel, grade not stated for this product · metal clips · no gaskets 4/10 "Plastic-free and waste-free"; "non-toxic" India (stated) $54 Maker’s page

The heaviest “100% plastic-free” positioning of anything we checked, and it does state a country — made in India, on the product page. But their FAQ says bentos other than the Blue Water Bento line are “food-grade stainless steel 201 or 304”. You cannot tell which one you are buying.

What we’d want you to know (4) & sources (2)
  • Grade 201 substitutes manganese for nickel and corrodes more readily than 304. Committing to one grade, or labelling it per product, would cost nothing and would raise this score several points. We have asked them which one ships in this product. [2]
  • No warranty published anywhere we could find. [2]
  • No lead or metals testing published. [2]
  • No gaskets, so not leak-proof. Their separate Splash Box is the leak-proof one, and it seals with silicone — worth knowing if “plastic-free” was the whole reason you were buying. [1]

composition 1/3 · testing 0/3 · origin 2/2 · claim precision 1/2 · oven Steel to ~350°F · warranty UNVERIFIED — none published

Sources

  1. ECOlunchbox Three-in-One Giant
  2. ECOlunchbox FAQ — the “201 or 304” disclosure
Bentgo Kids Stainless Steel18/8 stainless tray · 18/8 stainless + silicone lid · silicone seal and pot 3/10 "NO PFAS & BPA-FREE"; "made without PVC, phthalates, lead, or vinyl" UNVERIFIED $49.99 Maker’s page

Genuinely all-stainless in the food zone, and the spec block names every part. Most Bentgo models are plastic — this line is not, and the composition disclosure is as good as PlanetBox’s. Then it asserts “NO PFAS” and no lead, PVC, phthalates or vinyl with nothing published behind any of it.

What we’d want you to know (4) & sources (2)
  • No third-party testing, no certification, no Prop 65 statement. [1]
  • No country of manufacture stated on the product page or the FAQ. [1]
  • The second claim — “made without PVC, phthalates, lead, or vinyl” — is on Bentgo’s FAQ rather than the product page. [2]
  • The 5-year warranty is well above Bentgo’s own stated 1–2 year baseline for most lunch products, which is a decent signal about the line. [2]

composition 3/3 · testing 0/3 · origin 0/2 · claim precision 0/2 · oven Top-rack dishwasher · warranty 5 years

Sources

  1. Bentgo Kids Stainless Steel Lunch Box
  2. Bentgo FAQ — the wider “free of” claim and warranty baseline

Food storage · 3 checked

ProductDisclosureWhat they claimMade inPrice
Anchor Hocking TrueSealTempered soda-lime silicate glass · published as 70 SiO2 CaO, 15 Na2O · lid resin and gasket not stated 6/10 "BPA-free containers" USA (stated) UNVERIFIED
no price on maker's site
Maker’s page

The only company here that publishes an actual oxide composition for its glass. Not a marketing word — a formula. Made in the USA, stated. Claims only BPA-free and does not stretch beyond it.

What we’d want you to know (5) & sources (3)
  • The composition and the tempering explanation are on Anchor Hocking’s “why choose glass” page, not the TrueSeal product page. Both linked below. [2]
  • Lid resin and gasket material are not stated. The lid is a food-contact part, which is why this scores 2 rather than 3 on composition. [1]
  • No warranty and no third-party testing published that we could find. [1]
  • 425°F ceiling — above that counts as misuse. [1]
  • Their framing that soda-lime is “a modern improvement over borosilicate” is a competitive claim, not a neutral one. Their own precise wording is that tempered soda-lime has “equal to or greater thermal shock resistance than annealed borosilicate” — a tempered-versus-annealed comparison, which is not the same as tempered-versus-tempered. [2] [3]

composition 2/3 · testing 0/3 · origin 2/2 · claim precision 2/2 · oven To 425°F; microwave, freezer, dishwasher · warranty UNVERIFIED

Sources

  1. Anchor Hocking TrueSeal
  2. Anchor Hocking, “why choose glass” — the published oxide composition
  3. Anchor Hocking bakeware facts
Onyx Airtight Container 18cm18/8 food-grade stainless · silicone-sealed lid 5/10 "non-plastic storage containers" Korea (stated) UNVERIFIED
wholesale-only site
Maker’s page

Made in Korea, which is unusual — nearly everything in this category is China or India. Sold wholesale, so there is no consumer price on their site and we will not quote a retailer’s. We earn nothing from this link and could not if we wanted to.

What we’d want you to know (4) & sources (1)
  • “FDA approved silicone” appears on their site but attached to a different product line, not this container. [1]
  • The lid is not dishwasher or oven safe, which undercuts the point of a steel container somewhat. [1]
  • No warranty published. [1]
  • Their site redirects to an unencrypted connection, which is a poor look for a 2026 storefront. [1]

composition 2/3 · testing 0/3 · origin 2/2 · claim precision 1/2 · oven Base dishwasher safe; lid not · warranty UNVERIFIED

Sources

  1. Onyx 18cm airtight container
Pyrex Simply StoreGlass type NOT declared by the maker · “BPA-free plastic lids”, resin not stated 3/10 "BPA-free plastic lids" UNVERIFIED for this set $13.99
4-piece round set
Maker’s page

Pyrex does not tell you what its glass is made of. Their FAQ compares soda-lime and borosilicate side by side without ever saying which one you are buying. The answer — tempered soda-lime — comes from the Corning Museum of Glass and from a competitor stating it as industry fact. It is a perfectly good answer. They just will not give it.

What we’d want you to know (4) & sources (4)
  • This matters practically, not just on principle: soda-lime handles thermal shock worse than borosilicate, which is exactly why Pyrex warns never to put hot glass on a cold or wet surface. The composition is the reason for the warning. [2]
  • No stovetop, broiler, toaster oven or grill. Fully preheated conventional or convection oven only. [1]
  • January 2023: the FTC announced a proposed consent order requiring Pyrex’s manufacturer, Instant Brands, to pay $129,416 for advertising Chinese-made measuring cups as “Made in USA”. Over 110,000 units were sold with that claim; the order was finalised in March 2023 and refunds went out in October 2024. [4]
  • Instant Brands filed for Chapter 11 in mid-2023, so treat any warranty as worth checking before you rely on it.

composition 1/3 · testing 0/3 · origin 0/2 · claim precision 2/2 · oven Preheated oven only; no stovetop · warranty 2 years

Sources

  1. Pyrex Simply Store 4-piece round set
  2. Pyrex FAQ — discusses both glass types without stating which is used
  3. Corning Museum of Glass on Pyrex glass composition
  4. FTC press release, Instant Brands “Made in USA” order, January 2023

Bottles · 2 checked

ProductDisclosureWhat they claimMade inPrice
Klean Kanteen Kids Classic 12oz18/8 stainless, 90% recycled, single wall · removable soft silicone spout 8/10 "BPA Free and Lead Free" China — stated in FAQ, designed in California $9.95
on sale from $17.95
Maker’s page

Single wall, so there is no vacuum seal at the base and therefore no sealing dot — which is the one place lead actually turns up in steel bottles. Klean Kanteen’s FAQ states 18/8 food-grade steel, no interior plastic or epoxy lining, and manufacture in China. $10 on sale.

What we’d want you to know (4) & sources (3)
  • The 18/8 grade and the country are stated in the company FAQ, not on the product page, which says only “90% Recycled Steel”. Both linked below. [2]
  • Testing scores only 1 of 3. Klean Kanteen names Intertek for recycled-content verification and cites a GreenScreen assessment of its exterior coating — neither of those is safety testing of this bottle, and no report for it is published. [2]
  • Klean Kanteen says all its products are lead-free and that its insulated line uses silica/glass plugs rather than lead solder. Independent tester Tamara Rubin disputes this for the insulated bottles and recommends only the non-insulated ones. We found no company response to her specifically. This single-wall bottle sidesteps the argument entirely by having no vacuum seal at all. [3]
  • Hand wash the printed ones if you want the graphics to survive. [1]

composition 3/3 · testing 1/3 · origin 2/2 · claim precision 2/2 · oven Dishwasher safe · warranty Lifetime limited

Sources

  1. Klean Kanteen 12oz Kids Classic with Sport Cap
  2. Klean Kanteen FAQ — steel grade, lining, country, sealing method
  3. Tamara Rubin, water bottle recommendations and the insulated-bottle dispute
Hydro Flask Kids 12 oz BottleStainless steel, grade not stated · double-wall vacuum · plastic cap, type not stated 4/10 None made on the kids pages UNVERIFIED $22.49
from $29.95
Maker’s page

Makes no “free of” claims at all on its kids pages, which is unusual and means it cannot overclaim. Publishes a statutory California AB 1200 materials disclosure — an actual legal filing rather than marketing. Lead does not appear on it.

What we’d want you to know (4) & sources (4)
  • The AB 1200 disclosure is the manufacturer’s own filing against a designated chemical list, not third-party testing, which is why testing scores 1 rather than 2. It is also not component-level — every product in a category gets an identical entry. [2]
  • Hydro Flask says it moved away from the industry-standard leaded sealing dot in 2012. Tamara Rubin’s XRF testing describes pre-2018 Hydro Flasks as having leaded dots, while naming post-2018 Hydro Flask as consistently lead-free. Both accounts cannot be exactly right, and we found no reconciliation — but on the current product they agree. [3] [4]
  • Stainless grade, cap plastic, boot material and country of manufacture are all unstated. [1]
  • Not for hot liquids, not for the freezer, ages 3+. [1]

composition 1/3 · testing 1/3 · origin 0/2 · claim precision 2/2 · oven Dishwasher safe · warranty Hydro Flask Promise, limited

Sources

  1. Hydro Flask Kids 12 oz Bottle
  2. Hydro Flask required materials disclosure (California AB 1200)
  3. Hydro Flask FAQ on lead and bottle sealing
  4. Tamara Rubin, water bottle testing and recommendations

Tell me when this list changes

New products, corrected scores, and any brand that finally answers a question we’ve put to them. The list isn’t open yet — email hello@messypig.com and we’ll add you when it is.