MessyPig

Brand file

Snapware: what it’s actually made from

Every Snapware product we have scored, with the maker’s own words about materials and what those words leave out. Average across the range: 64.0 out of 100.

We have scored 3 Snapware products. They average 64.0 out of 100 on materials, and the spread between the best and worst is 9 points.

Of those 3: 3 name the surface that touches food at least to a material family; 1 state a country of manufacture; 1 have a materials claim backed by anything other than the maker’s own word.

Every Snapware product we have scored

ProductCategoryScore /100What it is made of
Snapware Total Solution Pyrex 10pc · USFood storage70“Pyrex glass” — type not stated per product · polypropylene lids · silicone seals
Snapware Pyrex 18-Piece Glass Storage Set (Costco) · USFood storage61“Stain-resistant tempered glass” — soda-lime or borosilicate not stated · “BPA-free” lids,
Snapware Total Solution Pyrex Glass Square 4 Cup · AUFood storage61Tempered glass, type not stated on the page · four-latch plastic lid, resin not named

Click a product to read the full record — the exact wording the maker uses, what is missing, and every source. Scores are out of 100 and measure materials, not safety: 70/100 means “mostly inert”. The rubric is here.

Where these sit on the site

Snapware appears in Food storage. The Australian and American editions are scored the same way, so a product marked AU and one marked US are directly comparable.

Related pages

One useful email a fortnight

New scores, brands that finally answered, and any rule change that affects what you can buy. The list is not open yet — email us and we will add you when it is.