MessyPig

24 checked · last checked 1 September 2026

Glass food storage containers — and the lids nobody declares

Scored on what they are made of — and one of the most-bought glass brands in the world will not tell you what its glass is made of.

Glass storage jars and rectangular containers with bamboo lids holding rice, pasta, lentils, oats, seeds and dried beans
Cookware (38)Lunchboxes (22)Food storage (24)Bottles (26)Air fryers (26)

The short version

  • Glass removes the question — heat plus plastic is the combination that actually has evidence behind it.
  • Two glasses, and makers rarely say which. Tempered soda-lime is the norm; borosilicate handles thermal shock better.
  • The lid is the food-contact part everyone forgets, and almost nobody names the resin.
  • The most-bought brand here won’t tell you what its glass is. That’s the finding.
  • Never put hot glass on a cold or wet surface. It’s the reason for every warning on the box.
Why, in full ↓

The 24 we’ve checked

We score what it’s made of, so you don’t have to read the small print

Every score below is out of 100 for the materials — mostly what actually touches your food (60 points), then the lids, seals and handles (25), and whether the maker can back the materials claim up (15).

80–100 bare, inert materials 60–79 mostly inert 40–59 coated, or plastic in contact 0–39 coated, plastic, or unnamed

Bare stainless, cast iron and glass score highest because there is nothing applied to them that can come off. Coatings score lower the less the maker will say about them, and a product whose materials are never named cannot score at all — you can’t call something inert if nobody will tell you what it is.

This is not a safety rating. We run no laboratory. A low score means the food meets a coating or a plastic, or that nobody will say what it meets — which is worth knowing, and is not the same as something being wrong with it. How we score, in full

Ranked by score. Nothing here is a paid link — we are not in any affiliate programme.

84 out of 100 materials score

Bare, inert materials

Touches food60/60
The rest13/25
Backed up11/15
Best material here

Anchor Hocking TrueSeal

Tempered soda-lime silicate glass · published as 70 SiO2 CaO, 15 Na2O · lid resin and gasket not stated

Best material

The only company here that publishes an actual oxide composition for its glass. Not a marketing word — a formula.

Made in the USA, stated. Claims only BPA-free and does not stretch beyond it.

They claim
"BPA-free containers"
Made in
USA (stated)
Warranty
UNVERIFIED
Heat
To 425°F; microwave, freezer, dishwasher
What we’d want you to know (5)
  • The composition and the tempering explanation are on Anchor Hocking’s “why choose glass” page, not the TrueSeal product page. Both linked below. [2]
  • Lid resin and gasket material are not stated. The lid is a food-contact part, which is why the composition is not counted as fully declared. [1]
  • On testing, their FAQ answers the lead-and-cadmium question with “Yes, and also CA Prop 65 compliant.” That is the whole answer. It names an external standard, so it scores 1 — but there is no laboratory, no method and no report behind it. No warranty is published either. [4]
  • 425°F ceiling — above that counts as misuse. [1]
  • Their framing that soda-lime is “a modern improvement over borosilicate” is a competitive claim, not a neutral one. Their own precise wording is that tempered soda-lime has “equal to or greater thermal shock resistance than annealed borosilicate” — a tempered-versus-annealed comparison, which is not the same as tempered-versus-tempered. [2] [3]

Sources (4)

  1. Anchor Hocking TrueSeal
  2. Anchor Hocking, “why choose glass” — the published oxide composition
  3. Anchor Hocking bakeware facts
  4. Anchor Hocking FAQ — the lead, cadmium and Prop 65 answer
UNVERIFIEDno price on maker's site View on anchorhocking.com
83 out of 100 materials score

Bare, inert materials

Touches food60/60
The rest17/25
Backed up6/15

Le Parfait Super Jar

“Soda-lime-silica glass with no lead added during fabrication” · stainless wire-bail clamp · rubber gasket, compound not specified

Buy it

The only maker in this category that names its glass. “Soda-lime-silica”, stated outright — and it is the honest answer rather than the flattering one.

Thirteen of the fourteen storage products we read will not tell you what their glass is. Le Parfait does, and does not pretend it is borosilicate.

They claim
"BPA-free food-safe glass"; "no lead added during fabrication"
Made in
France (stated)
Warranty
UNVERIFIED — not published
Heat
Dishwasher, freezer and microwave safe; no oven guidance or temperature limit published
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • “No lead added during fabrication” is carefully worded. It addresses the process, not the finished product, and no test result is offered alongside it. [1]
  • Made in France, stated plainly, and manufactured “to French and European food-safety standards”. [1]
  • The dishwasher, freezer and microwave guidance lives inside product images rather than in page text, which makes it easy to miss. [1]
  • No oven guidance, no temperature limit and no thermal-shock warning — on soda-lime glass, which tolerates thermal shock poorly. Compare WECK below, which publishes a differential. [2]

Sources (2)

  1. Le Parfait Super Jar product page
  2. Le Parfait America — airtight jars with replaceable seals
$50set as listed View on leparfait.us
81 out of 100 materials score

Bare, inert materials

Touches food60/60
The rest21/25
Backed up0/15

U-Konserve Rectangle Container 25 oz

304 (18/8) stainless steel body · platinum-grade silicone lid

Buy it

Names the steel precisely — 304, given as 18/8 with the chromium and nickel percentages spelled out — and names the lid silicone by cure type rather than calling it “food grade”.

Two specific answers to the two questions that matter on a steel container. Most of this category gives neither.

They claim
"No BPA, BPS, phthalates, or lead"
Made in
China, in BSCI-certified facilities (stated)
Warranty
UNVERIFIED — not published
Heat
Containers oven safe to 300°F; lids not oven safe; not microwave safe; top-rack dishwasher; freezer safe
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • Three different oven numbers appear on one of U-Konserve’s own pages: these containers are “oven safe up to 300ºF”, the BounceBox is “oven safe up to 425ºF”, and discolouration is said to start above 450°F with a do-not-exceed of 600°F. [2]
  • 300°F is a strikingly low rating for 304 steel and is almost certainly a limit imposed by the silicone lid or the assembly, not by the metal. The page does not say so. [2]
  • “Naturally free from BPA, BPS, lead, and other toxins” is open-ended; the product page’s narrower “No BPA, BPS, phthalates, or lead” is the defensible version of the same claim. [1] [2]
  • No warranty published anywhere we could find. Manufacture is stated as China, in BSCI-certified facilities. [1] [2]

Sources (2)

  1. U-Konserve Rectangle Container product page
  2. U-Konserve Product Information — steel grade and the three oven figures
77 out of 100 materials score

Mostly inert

Touches food60/60
The rest17/25
Backed up0/15

Onyx Airtight Container 18cm

18/8 food-grade stainless · silicone-sealed lid

Hard to buy

Made in Korea, which is unusual — nearly everything in this category is China or India.

Sold wholesale, so there is no consumer price on their site and we will not quote a retailer’s. We earn nothing from this link and could not if we wanted to.

They claim
"non-plastic storage containers"
Made in
Korea (stated)
Warranty
UNVERIFIED
Heat
Base dishwasher safe; lid not
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • “FDA approved silicone” appears on their site but attached to a different product line, not this container. [1]
  • The lid is not dishwasher or oven safe, which undercuts the point of a steel container somewhat. [1]
  • No warranty published. [1]
  • Their site redirects to an unencrypted connection, which is a poor look for a 2026 storefront. [1]

Sources (1)

  1. Onyx 18cm airtight container
UNVERIFIEDwholesale-only site View on onyxcontainers.com
77 out of 100 materials score

Mostly inert

Touches food60/60
The rest17/25
Backed up0/15

Klean Kanteen 16 oz TKCanister

“18/8 food-grade stainless steel and electro polished interiors”, 90% recycled · silicone cap · vacuum sealed with silica/glass plugs rather than solder

Buy it

Klean Kanteen states that it uses “silica/glass plugs to create its vacuum-insulated vessels” rather than a solder dot. On a double-walled vessel that is the single most useful sentence a maker can publish, and almost none of them do.

The base solder dot is exactly the defect behind the 2023–24 CPSC lead recalls of children’s stainless drinkware — Green Sprouts, PandaEar, Tiblue and others. Saying you do not use one is a real answer to a real question.

They claim
"BPA Free and Lead Free"
Made in
China — designed in Chico, California (stated)
Warranty
Lifetime limited against manufacturing defects, original purchaser
Heat
Dishwasher safe; holds hot 7 hours and cold 25; no microwave, oven or freezer guidance published
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • “BPA Free” on a steel and silicone insulated canister — never in question, and the claim does no work. [1]
  • No silicone standard for the cap gasket, and the lid’s plastic parts are not itemised, so the food-contact polymer inventory is incomplete. [1] [3]
  • No microwave, oven or freezer guidance published at all for this product — a gap made conspicuous by Klean Kanteen’s own Rise Food Box, which carries explicit 350°F and 1000W limits. [1]
  • For context on why the vacuum seal matters: the CPSC recalled several brands of children’s stainless drinkware in 2023 over lead in the solder sealing the base. [4]

Sources (4)

  1. Klean Kanteen 16 oz TKCanister insulated food container
  2. Klean Kanteen FAQ — 18/8 definition and the silica/glass vacuum plugs
  3. Klean Kanteen warranty
  4. CPSC — Green Sprouts recall over lead in the base solder, 2023
$36.95listed sold out View on kleankanteen.com
73 out of 100 materials score

Mostly inert

Touches food60/60
The rest13/25
Backed up0/15

Libbey Baker’s Basics Glass Bowl Set

“Lead free soda lime glass” — the glass type actually named · lids given only as “Plastic”, resin not named

Buy it

Names the glass. “Lead free soda lime glass” is a specification, and in this category that alone puts it near the top.

It is the second maker out of more than twenty storage products we have read who will say what their glass is.

They claim
"Lead free"
Made in
Mexico (stated for one of the four bowls only)
Warranty
No product warranty — a 30-day order-problem window only
Heat
Stated safe for microwave, oven, freezer and dishwasher; no temperature ceiling or thermal-shock figure published
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • Libbey’s own dedicated storage line does not do this. The “Serve It” 8-piece glass storage set and the small bowls with lids declare only “glass”. Same maker, same shop, one page declares and the others do not. [2] [3] [4]
  • Declared oven safe with no temperature ceiling and no thermal-shock figure, on soda-lime glass — whose weak point is precisely thermal shock. The Serve It page adds “do not transfer containers directly from freezer to oven”; this page omits that caution entirely, so two Libbey pages give different safety information about the same glass. [1] [3]
  • No product warranty at all — only a 30-day window to report a problem with an order, which is a retail term rather than a guarantee. [5]
  • The lid resin is never named, and the URL slug reads “storage-basics” while the title reads “Baker’s Basics”. Merchandised as storage, titled as bakeware. [1]

Sources (5)

  1. Libbey Baker's Basics 4-piece glass bowl set with lids
  2. Libbey storage collection
  3. Libbey Serve It glass storage set — glass type absent, freezer-to-oven caution present
  4. Libbey small glass bowls with lids — glass type absent
  5. Libbey returns and replacements — the 30-day window
$54.994 pieces with lids View on shop.libbey.com
71 out of 100 materials score

Mostly inert

Touches food40/60
The rest25/25
Backed up6/15

Stasher Gallon Bag

Platinum-cured food-grade silicone throughout, including the Pinch-Loc seal · no other materials

Read the caveats

One material, no plastic anywhere, and the only brand in this category that names its silicone cure chemistry: platinum-cured rather than peroxide-cured.

That is a real distinction and it affects residual by-products. Everyone else here says “food grade silicone” and stops.

They claim
"free of lead, latex, BPA, BPS, and phthalates"
Made in
China (stated); designed in Emeryville, California
Warranty
30-day guarantee on the product page; warranty programme linked but terms not published
Heat
Dishwasher, microwave, freezer and oven safe to 425°F; avoid open flame and broilers
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • The product page drops the word “platinum” and says only “premium food-grade silicone”. The material distinction survives only on the FAQ. [1] [2]
  • “Food-grade… one of the highest quality tiers” is marketing. There is no tiered food-grade silicone rating scheme, and no agency issues a food-grade certificate. [2]
  • The two pages word the same claim differently — “and phthalates” against “or other phthalates”. The second phrasing implies BPA and BPS are phthalates, which they are not. [1] [2]
  • Credit: a 425°F oven rating with an explicit exclusion for broilers, open flames and sharp objects is more specific than anything else in this category. [1]

Sources (2)

  1. Stasher Gallon Bag product page
  2. Stasher materials and FAQ page — the platinum cure
$34.99from $49.99 View on stasherbag.com
70 out of 100 materials score

Mostly inert

Touches food53/60
The rest17/25
Backed up0/15

WECK Mold Jar

Glass, type not named · natural rubber sealing ring · metal clamps, alloy not specified

Read the caveats

The only maker here that publishes a thermal-shock differential rather than an oven temperature: the difference between the jar and the ambient temperature “should not exceed 122°F”.

That is the correct way to state the risk for glass, and more useful than the absolute numbers everyone else gives. It is also, oddly, offered alongside no glass type at all.

They claim
None made
Made in
UNVERIFIED — company founded in Germany; current manufacture not stated
Warranty
UNVERIFIED — not published
Heat
Jars and glass lids dishwasher and microwave safe; freezer only with a Keep Fresh Cover; keep the temperature differential under 122°F
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • Natural rubber rings are the only sealing part, they are consumable and sold separately, and natural rubber is a latex-allergy consideration the pages never raise. [1]
  • Freezer safety is conditional on buying a separate plastic Keep Fresh Cover, and only for three of the jar shapes. Wood lids are refrigerator-only; cork is neither. [1]
  • No “free of” claim of any kind. On a jar with no coating and no plastic in the food zone that is defensible restraint — but the glass type still goes undeclared. [1]
  • Company origin is given as Oflingen, Germany. The current country of manufacture for the jars is not stated as such. [2]

Sources (2)

  1. WECK FAQ — the 122°F differential, rubber rings, freezer conditions
  2. WECK About page
Price not publishedsold in sets of six View on weckjars.com
70 out of 100 materials score

Mostly inert

Touches food53/60
The rest17/25
Backed up0/15

IKEA 365+ Glass Container 34 oz

“Heat resistant glass”, type not named · polypropylene lid · silicone rubber seal

Fine

Names the lid resin as polypropylene and the seal as silicone rubber, precisely — then declines to name the glass, calling it only “heat resistant”.

That pattern tells you the omission is a choice rather than an oversight. It is still better plastic disclosure than most premium brands here, for about six dollars a container.

They claim
None made
Made in
UNVERIFIED — not published
Warranty
No product warranty; 365-day returns
Heat
Oven safe (container only, not the lid); microwave, freezer and dishwasher safe; no temperature limit published
What we’d want you to know (3)
  • “Heat resistant glass” is a performance adjective standing in for a composition. It is declared oven-safe with no temperature ceiling and no thermal-shock warning. [1]
  • No “free of” claims at all, and no product warranty — only a 365-day returns policy, which is a retail term rather than a guarantee about the product. [1]
  • Credit: the lid and seal disclosure is more specific than Rubbermaid’s, whose lid is given only as the trade name “StainShield”. [2]

Sources (2)

  1. IKEA 365+ food container with lid, rectangular glass 34 oz
  2. IKEA 365+ food storage range
$17.993-pack View on ikea.com
70 out of 100 materials score

Mostly inert

Touches food53/60
The rest17/25
Backed up0/15

Glasslock Oven Safe 18pc Set

Glass type never named — recipe given as “silica, soda ash, limestone, other natural components” · polypropylene lids · silicone gaskets

Read the caveats

A product line named “Oven Safe” that publishes no oven temperature anywhere. The name is the entire claim.

The brand page does list the glass recipe — silica, soda ash, limestone — which is a soda-lime formulation, but never labels it as one and never says whether it is tempered.

They claim
"entire BPA free"; "do not contain harmful environmental hormones"
Made in
South Korea (stated)
Warranty
UNVERIFIED — not published
Heat
UNVERIFIED — a line called “Oven Safe” with no published temperature
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • Glasslock sells both a standard line and this “Oven Safe” line, and the site never explains the material difference between them. A buyer cannot tell what the premium buys. [1] [2]
  • No warranty, no oven instructions and no thermal-shock guidance on the product page, the category page or the brand page. [1] [2]
  • “Do not contain harmful environmental hormones” is a claim well beyond BPA, offered with no testing, no standard and no reporting limit. [2]
  • Credit: country of manufacture is stated plainly — “all of our Glasslock products are made and assembled in S. Korea”. [2]

Sources (2)

  1. Glasslock 18pc Oven Safe Box Set
  2. Glasslock — “What is Glasslock?” brand page, with the glass recipe
70 out of 100 materials score

Mostly inert

Touches food47/60
The rest17/25
Backed up6/15

Snapware Total Solution Pyrex 10pc

“Pyrex glass” — type not stated per product · polypropylene lids · silicone seals

They won't say

Pyrex’s own FAQ says the quiet part out loud: “as we produce both soda-lime and borosilicate glass…”, and then compares the two on impact resistance.

The company clearly knows the distinction matters. No product page then applies it, so you cannot tell which one you are buying.

They claim
"BPA-free plastic"; plastics "DO NOT contain BPA, BPS, BVP, Latex, Phthalate, Polycarbonate"
Made in
UNVERIFIED — not published
Warranty
Two years on the glass for breakage from oven heat; lifetime on the plastic against defects
Heat
Preheated ovens only, no lids in the oven, no broiler; microwave with the lid unlatched; top-rack dishwasher
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • The warranty covers breakage “from oven heat” for two years. Thermal-shock breakage from a cold counter — which Pyrex’s own safety page warns about at length — is not what the warranty promises to replace. [2]
  • A 450°F figure exists on the safety page but is scoped to “bakeware”, leaving this storage vessel’s limit undeclared. [2]
  • Credit: the safety page is unusually thorough on thermal shock — do not add liquid to hot glassware, do not put hot glass on a countertop, a metal surface or in the sink. [2]
  • Pyrex states it tests for lead and cadmium at third-party laboratories. No laboratory is named and no certificate is published. [3]

Sources (3)

  1. Snapware Total Solution Pyrex 10-piece set
  2. Pyrex product warranties, safety and usage
  3. Pyrex FAQ — “we produce both soda-lime and borosilicate glass”
70 out of 100 materials score

Mostly inert

Touches food53/60
The rest17/25
Backed up0/15

Bormioli Rocco Frigoverre 4.7-Cup, Set of 8

“Sturdy glass” — type not named · lid “polyethylene”, which is named

Read the caveats

Names the lid resin — polyethylene — which Duralex, Libbey and Ello all decline to do. Then declines to name the glass, calling it “sturdy”.

A 158°F microwave ceiling on a glass food container is extraordinarily low, below a simmer, and it is presented as a feature.

They claim
"BPA-free"; FAQ adds "lead, cadmium, BPA, arsenic and heavy metal free"
Made in
Contested — the product page says Italy; the FAQ names Spain, Germany, Turkey and China as well
Warranty
UNVERIFIED — not published
Heat
Freezer to -4°F, microwave to 158°F without the lid; dishwasher safe
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • The FAQ mis-converts a temperature difference as if it were an absolute temperature: “resistant to thermal shocks ΔT from 100°C / 212°F to 160°C / 320°F”. A ΔT of 100°C is 180°F, not 212°F. The published shock ratings overstate in Fahrenheit. [2]
  • Two of their own pages disagree on origin: the product page says “all components are made in Italy”, while the FAQ says “most of our glassware is made at our factory in Fidenza and Parma… some of our items are manufactured for us by skilled artisans in glassworks in Spain, Germany, Turkey and China”. [1] [2]
  • Credit: the FAQ makes a broad and specific material claim — “all of our glass products past and present are lead, cadmium, BPA, arsenic and heavy metal free”. [2]
  • No warranty published. [1]

Sources (2)

  1. Bormioli Rocco Frigoverre 4.7-cup rectangle, set of 8
  2. Bormioli Rocco FAQ — material claims, the ΔT conversion, the origin list
$100.9937.25 oz each View on bormioliroccous.com
67 out of 100 materials score

Mostly inert

Touches food40/60
The rest21/25
Backed up6/15

Souper Cubes Complete 29-Piece Set

100% platinum-cured FDA food-grade silicone trays; LFGB silicone covers · stainless steel wire inside the rim · stoneware dishes · plastic lids

Read the caveats

The best silicone disclosure in this category: cure type, standard body, and the fact that the US and EU versions are certified to different standards — FDA here, LFGB there.

Most brands hide that. Souper Cubes states it, and also discloses the steel wire moulded inside the tray rim, which most owners never learn about.

They claim
"100% food-grade silicone molds and BPA-free"; lids "free of BPA, lead, PVC, and phthalates"
Made in
Silicone made in China; stoneware made in the USA; designed in California
Warranty
Lifetime limited, against manufacturing defects
Heat
Silicone trays oven safe to 415°F (not lids); freezer safe; microwave not recommended and voids the warranty if the steel rim is exposed
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • That steel rim is a real hazard disclosed only in the warranty clause: microwaving voids the warranty if the rim is exposed. A buyer reading the product page alone would not see it. [1] [2]
  • Oven safe to 415°F — but not the lids. A two-part limit that is easy to get wrong. [1] [2]
  • A mixed-material set under one SKU: silicone, stoneware, plastic lids and steel, made in two countries. The stoneware is made in the USA; the silicone in China. [2]
  • Credit: the plastic lids are declared “free of BPA, lead, PVC, and phthalates” separately from the silicone claims, rather than blanketing everything under one sentence. [1]

Sources (2)

  1. Souper Cubes Complete 29-piece set
  2. Souper Cubes FAQ — cure type, FDA vs LFGB, the steel rim, warranty
$198from $260 View on soupercubes.com
66 out of 100 materials score

Mostly inert

Touches food53/60
The rest13/25
Backed up0/15

Ball Mason Jars, Wide Mouth 12-pack

Glass, given only as “Glass” · tin-plated steel lids and bands · lid sealing compound not identified

Read the caveats

Made in the USA, stated plainly for the jars, the lids and the bands — which is rare in this category and worth crediting.

The glass is described by the word “Glass”, by a maker whose jars are routinely heat-processed in boiling-water and pressure canners.

They claim
"BPA-free"
Made in
USA (stated, for jars, lids and bands)
Warranty
UNVERIFIED — not published
Heat
Freezer and dishwasher safe per the wide-mouth page; no oven or microwave guidance
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • Two Ball product pages disagree: the Wide Mouth page states “Freezer Safe: Yes” and the Regular Mouth quart page states “Freezer Safe: No”, with no explanation. The real reason is the shouldered neck on regular-mouth jars, and Ball never says it. [1] [2]
  • “BPA-free” is the only chemical claim, and the lid’s sealing compound — the part that actually touches food, and where BPA historically lived — is never identified. [1] [3]
  • Lids are single-use for canning and bands are reusable. Stated clearly, which matters for a consumable part. [3]
  • No warranty published anywhere we could find. [1]

Sources (3)

  1. Ball Mason Jars & Lids, Wide Mouth 12-pack
  2. Ball Mason Jars & Lids, Regular Mouth — the contradicting freezer line
  3. Ball wide mouth jar lids and bands, 12pk
Price not publishedlisted out of stock View on ballmasonjars.com
66 out of 100 materials score

Mostly inert

Touches food53/60
The rest13/25
Backed up0/15

Ello Duraglass 5 Cup Container

“Duraglass™” — a trademark, not a glass type · silicone sleeve · lid resin not named · no gasket declaration

They won't say

The clearest case of a trademark standing exactly where a specification should be. The line is called “Duraglass™” and the maker never says what the glass is — not borosilicate, not soda-lime, not even tempered.

It then carries the highest oven rating of any glass container we have read: 450°F, with no thermal-shock figure at all.

They claim
"BPA Free"
Made in
UNVERIFIED — not published
Warranty
Limited lifetime on defects — US and Canada original purchasers; silent on breakage
Heat
Oven safe to 450°F without the lid; microwave without the lid; freezer and dishwasher safe; no thermal-shock figure
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • The only caution offered is “do not place container on wet or cold surface” — an implicit admission that thermal shock is the real failure mode, while declining to quantify it. [1]
  • A “Limited Lifetime Warranty” on “defects in materials or workmanship”, for a glass container, with no stated position on breakage — the one failure a glass-container buyer actually cares about. [1]
  • “BPA Free” is the only chemical claim. No lead or cadmium statement, where Duralex, Libbey and Bormioli all make one; no lid resin, no silicone standard, no country of manufacture. [1] [2]
  • Ello’s FAQ page would not load for us, so glass type, lid resin and origin stay unverified from the maker rather than being filled from a retailer. [3]

Sources (3)

  1. Ello Duraglass 5 Cup Food Storage Container
  2. Ello Duraglass 2 Cup Round — same undeclared glass across the line
  3. Ello FAQ — would not load
61 out of 100 materials score

Mostly inert

Touches food53/60
The rest8/25
Backed up0/15

Rubbermaid Brilliance Glass 10pc Set

Glass type not named · lids given only as “StainShield plastic”, a trade name · gasket not named

They won't say

Publishes a 450°F oven rating with no glass type and no thermal-shock warning at all. The number without the material is the least useful combination a buyer can be handed.

“StainShield” is branding standing exactly where a resin should be, on the lid that goes in the microwave.

They claim
"BPA-free"
Made in
UNVERIFIED — not published
Warranty
Referenced by link; terms not published on the page
Heat
Glass bases oven safe to 450°F; microwave for reheating with lids unlatched; freezer and dishwasher safe
What we’d want you to know (3)
  • One brand name, two different materials: “Brilliance” covers both this glass line and a Tritan plastic line, so listings and reviews routinely mix them up. [1] [2]
  • Rubbermaid’s own help-centre articles on Brilliance materials and care would not render for us, so the material detail is effectively unreachable on their site. [2]
  • The limited warranty and satisfaction guarantee are referenced by link only; no terms appear on the product page. [1]

Sources (2)

  1. Rubbermaid Brilliance Glass Food Storage Container Set
  2. Rubbermaid Brilliance category page — Tritan and glass lines under one name
Price not publishedlisted out of stock View on rubbermaid.com
61 out of 100 materials score

Mostly inert

Touches food53/60
The rest8/25
Backed up0/15

Duralex Freshbox Square Set

“Duralex® tempered glass” — tempered, but the glass chemistry never stated · snap-on lid, material never stated

Read the caveats

Duralex publishes three mutually inconsistent thermal figures across its own pages, and one of them is arithmetically impossible.

“A thermal shock of 200°C/392°F”, “a sudden change of temperature of more than 130°C/392°F”, and “more than 130°C/266°F”. 130°C is 266°F, so the 392°F pairing is simply wrong — and the 200°C spec contradicts the 130°C care line.

They claim
"Non toxic glassware. Lead and Cadmium free. BPA free."
Made in
France — La Chapelle-Saint-Mesmin, Orléans (stated)
Warranty
None published — the sets are listed Final Sale, non-returnable
Heat
Microwave, freezer and dishwasher safe; remove the lid before microwaving; not for the oven or a flame; −4°F to 266°F
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • Credit where it is due: Duralex is the only maker in this category publishing both an operating range — “−4°F to 266°F” — and a delta-T shock limit at all. Getting the arithmetic wrong is a smaller failing than not publishing a number. [3]
  • The glass is described only as “tempered”. Tempered soda-lime and borosilicate behave very differently under thermal shock and break differently, and Duralex never says which it is even while quantifying shock limits. [1] [3]
  • The lid polymer is never named — and the lid is the part sealing against food in the fridge. [1]
  • Listed “Final Sale”, non-returnable and non-refundable, with no published warranty. Made in France at their own factory in La Chapelle-Saint-Mesmin, which is stated plainly. [1]

Sources (3)

  1. Duralex Freshbox square bowl with lid
  2. Duralex Freshbox round bowl with lid — lid material also absent
  3. Duralex — benefits of Duralex glassware, where all three figures appear together
$90from $120, final sale View on duralexusa.com
61 out of 100 materials score

Mostly inert

Touches food53/60
The rest8/25
Backed up0/15

Snapware Pyrex 18-Piece Glass Storage Set (Costco)

“Stain-resistant tempered glass” — soda-lime or borosilicate not stated · “BPA-free” lids, resin not named

Fine

Tempered glass is named, and the glass family is not. Borosilicate and tempered soda-lime are both “tempered glass” and they behave differently under thermal shock.

The lid contacts food and its resin is never named — only “BPA-free”, which excludes one monomer and says nothing about BPS, BPF or the other substitutes.

They claim
"BPA-free" — lids only
Made in
UNVERIFIED — not published
Warranty
UNVERIFIED — not published
Heat
Preheated oven to 450°F; top-rack dishwasher; microwave and freezer safe
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • The summary bullet says the containers are “microwave, oven, refrigerator, freezer & dishwasher safe” without qualification. The detail then says “top-rack” dishwasher and “Preheated Oven Safe Up to 450°F”. Two meaningful restrictions dropped from the headline. [1]
  • No gasket or seal material is given, despite the “Airtight, leak-proof” claim, which implies one. [1]
  • Country of manufacture not published. No warranty. No third-party testing. [1]
  • Brand naming is muddled on the page itself: the title says “Snapware Pyrex” and the spec table says “Brand: Pyrex”. Pyrex Europe is borosilicate and Pyrex US is tempered soda-lime — two glasses, one name. [1]

Sources (1)

  1. Costco — Snapware Pyrex 18-Piece Glass Food Storage Set
Member priceCostco does not display prices to non-members; AU equivalent $67.99 View on costco.com
55 out of 100 materials score

Coated, or plastic in contact

Touches food47/60
The rest8/25
Backed up0/15

Pyrex Simply Store

Glass type NOT declared by the maker · “BPA-free plastic lids”, resin not stated

They won't say

Pyrex does not tell you what its glass is made of. Their FAQ compares soda-lime and borosilicate side by side without ever saying which one you are buying.

The answer — tempered soda-lime — comes from the Corning Museum of Glass and from a competitor stating it as industry fact. It is a perfectly good answer. They just will not give it.

They claim
"BPA-free plastic lids"
Made in
UNVERIFIED for this set
Warranty
2 years
Heat
Preheated oven only; no stovetop
What we’d want you to know (5)
  • They do assert testing, and we had this at zero before we looked properly. The FAQ says they “routinely test our Pyrex products for harmful lead and cadmium content at internationally recognized, third-party laboratories”. No laboratory is named, no result is published and no frequency is given, so it scores 1 — but it is an explicit third-party testing claim and we were wrong to record nothing. [2]
  • This matters practically, not just on principle: soda-lime handles thermal shock worse than borosilicate, which is exactly why Pyrex warns never to put hot glass on a cold or wet surface. The composition is the reason for the warning. [2]
  • No stovetop, broiler, toaster oven or grill. Fully preheated conventional or convection oven only. [1]
  • January 2023: the FTC announced a proposed consent order requiring Pyrex’s manufacturer, Instant Brands, to pay $129,416 for advertising Chinese-made measuring cups as “Made in USA”. Over 110,000 units were sold with that claim; the order was finalised in March 2023 and refunds went out in October 2024. [4]
  • Instant Brands filed for Chapter 11 in mid-2023, so treat any warranty as worth checking before you rely on it.

Sources (4)

  1. Pyrex Simply Store 4-piece round set
  2. Pyrex FAQ — discusses both glass types without stating which is used
  3. Corning Museum of Glass on Pyrex glass composition
  4. FTC press release, Instant Brands “Made in USA” order, January 2023
$13.994-piece round set View on pyrexhome.com
50 out of 100 materials score

Coated, or plastic in contact

Touches food26/60
The rest13/25
Backed up11/15

Caraway 12-pc Food Storage Set

“Non-toxic ceramic-coated glass” — glass type not named, coating chemistry not named · lid material not stated

Read the caveats

Marketed as “Oven Safe” with no temperature limit anywhere — while the warranty excludes both “any glass or porcelain in the product” and damage from “thermal shock”.

The one failure mode that oven use creates is the one the warranty explicitly does not cover. Both statements are Caraway’s own.

They claim
"made without BPA, PTFE, and PFAS"; "zero PTFE, zero PFOA, zero PFAS"
Made in
UNVERIFIED — not published
Warranty
One year — excludes any glass or porcelain in the product, and damage from thermal shock
Heat
Marketed microwave, oven, refrigerator and freezer safe; no temperature limit published
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • Two Caraway pages describe the same material two different ways — “ceramic-coated glass” and “ultra-pure, high-resistance glass”. Neither is a glass type; “ultra-pure” and “high-resistance” are not glass classifications. [1] [2]
  • The airtight line claims to be free of “microplastics” on a container with a plastic lid and a silicone gasket. As stated, that claim is not measurable. [2]
  • In August 2025 the NAD found Caraway’s “Free of PFAS” and “non-toxic” claims supported, while recommending it discontinue comparative claims including “Non-Toxic Swaps. Ditch the toxins and cook cleaner with Caraway!” and claims about rising “Teflon flu” cases. Credit the first half as readily as the second. [4]
  • Caraway publishes heavy-metal testing — “20+ heavy metals tested, including lead and cadmium — all clear” — which is more than any other storage brand here offers. [3]

Sources (4)

  1. Caraway Food Storage Set
  2. Caraway Glass Airtight Container Set — the second description of the glass
  3. Caraway — No Forever Chemicals
  4. BBB National Programs — NAD decision on Caraway, August 2025
$22827% off, save $85 View on carawayhome.com
43 out of 100 materials score

Coated, or plastic in contact

Touches food22/60
The rest21/25
Backed up0/15

reCAP POUR Mason Jar Lid

“FDA-approved BPA/BPS-free number ‘5’ Polypropylene plastic” · silicone gasket

Fine

Names the resin, the resin code and the gasket material — from the smallest company in this category, and more clearly than every large brand here.

It also says plainly what it cannot do: “reCAP Mason jar lids and most plastic are not to be used in canning or microwaving”, where competitors leave that ambiguous.

They claim
"BPA/BPS-free"
Made in
Erie, Pennsylvania, USA (stated)
Warranty
Limited lifetime on the cap only — excludes gaskets, accessories and jars
Heat
Top-rack dishwasher, hand wash preferred; freezer-proof; not for canning or microwaving
What we’d want you to know (3)
  • The lifetime warranty openly excludes gaskets, accessories and jars — the gasket being the part that wears out. Honest, and worth knowing before you buy. [1]
  • Fully US-made and specific about it: “Erie, PA USA. Our Mason jar lids are made start to finish from design, manufacture and fulfillment”. [1]
  • It is a lid rather than a container. Scored here because it determines what a mason jar actually is in use, and because the disclosure contrast with OXO on this page is instructive. [1]

Sources (1)

  1. reCAP Mason Jars FAQ — resin, gasket, warranty and use limits
Price not publishedregular and wide mouth View on recapmasonjars.com
35 out of 100 materials score

Coated, plastic, or unnamed

Touches food22/60
The rest13/25
Backed up0/15

Rubbermaid Brilliance 10-Piece Set

“BPA-free Tritan plastic” lids and bases · gasket material not published

Read the caveats

Names Tritan for both the bases and the latching lids, which is an unusually specific claim for a lid and more than most plastic storage brands give you.

The gasket — the part that makes it leak-proof and the part in permanent contact at the seal — has no named material anywhere.

They claim
"BPA-free Tritan plastic"
Made in
UNVERIFIED — not published
Warranty
One year limited (terms in a linked PDF), plus a 120-day satisfaction guarantee
Heat
Top-rack dishwasher, microwave and freezer safe; no oven use; no temperature limit published
What we’d want you to know (3)
  • No resin identification code appears anywhere on Rubbermaid’s pages, and their help-centre articles on Brilliance materials would not render for us. [1] [2]
  • The one-year limited warranty sits behind a linked PDF. The only term actually written into the page is a 120-day satisfaction guarantee, limited to original US purchasers from authorised sellers. [1]
  • No Prop 65 or California disclosure appears on the page. [1]

Sources (2)

  1. Rubbermaid Brilliance 10-Piece Set
  2. Rubbermaid Brilliance category page
Price not publishedlisted out of stock View on rubbermaid.com
33 out of 100 materials score

Coated, plastic, or unnamed

Touches food16/60
The rest17/25
Backed up0/15

Mainstays Food Storage Bento Container 42oz

“BPA-free material” — the resin is never named · silicone seal ring named

Read the caveats

The gasket is named and the container is not. “Silicone seal ring” is the one component Walmart identifies; the body holding the food is “BPA-free material”.

That inversion runs through the whole Mainstays storage range. The least food-contact part gets the most disclosure.

They claim
"BPA-free material"
Made in
UNVERIFIED — not published
Warranty
UNVERIFIED — not published
Heat
Microwave, freezer and top-rack dishwasher safe
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • No resin code, no polypropylene, nothing. “BPA-free” is a negative claim standing in for a positive identification, and it says nothing about BPS, BPF or phthalates. [1]
  • The integrated spoon and fork are food-contact items with no stated material. [1]
  • “Microwave and freezer” safe and “top-rack dishwasher safe” are claimed for an unnamed polymer. Microwave behaviour is entirely polymer-dependent. [1]
  • “Translucent lid” — material not published. No country of manufacture. No warranty. [1]

Sources (1)

  1. Walmart — Mainstays Food Storage Container Rectangle 42oz
$4.3419oz snack version $5.63 View on walmart.com
16 out of 100 materials score

Coated, plastic, or unnamed

Touches food16/60
The rest0/25
Backed up0/15

OXO Good Grips POP Container 2.8 qt

No resin named for the body, the lid or the gasket. The only material-adjacent statement on the maker’s pages is “BPA-Free”.

They won't say

A maker that will not say what its containers are made of. Not on the product page, not on the set pages, not anywhere we could reach.

“BPA-Free” is doing all the work, and it answers nothing: on a styrene copolymer, which is what foodservice distributors list these as, a BPA claim is trivially true and tells you nothing.

They claim
"BPA-Free"
Made in
UNVERIFIED — not published
Warranty
“The OXO Better Guarantee” referenced; terms would not render
Heat
Dishwasher safe; no microwave, freezer or oven guidance published
What we’d want you to know (3)
  • We are deliberately not filling this gap from a distributor listing. Material facts on this site come from the maker, and OXO publishes none, so it stays UNVERIFIED. [1]
  • Only dishwasher guidance is given. There is no statement about whether these are microwave or freezer safe. [1]
  • Several OXO product URLs returned 404 for us and the “Better Guarantee” page would not render its terms. OXO’s site was the least readable of any manufacturer in this category. [1] [2]

Sources (2)

  1. OXO POP Container Big Square Short 2.8 qt
  2. OXO POP container range
Price not publishedBig Square Short View on oxo.com

The question nobody answers

Glass storage is sold as the simple, honest choice, and mostly it is. But there are two kinds of glass in this category and they behave differently — and the biggest brand will not say which one you are buying.

Soda-lime versus borosilicate

Borosilicate handles sudden temperature change better. Tempered soda-lime is more resistant to impact, and when it does break it tends to crumble rather than shard. Both are used in kitchen glassware; neither is dangerous.

Which matters practically, because it is the reason for the warning on the box. Never put hot glass on a cold or wet surface is standard guidance precisely because soda-lime is less forgiving of thermal shock.

Who tells you, and who does not

Anchor Hocking publishes an actual oxide composition — tempered soda-lime silicate, 70 SiO2 CaO, 15 Na2O. Not a marketing word, a formula.

Pyrex does not. Their FAQ discusses soda-lime and borosilicate side by side without ever stating which they use. The answer — tempered soda-lime for current US products — comes from the Corning Museum of Glass and from a competitor stating it as industry fact. It is a perfectly good answer. They simply will not give it.

This is the clearest example on the whole site of the thing we score: not a bad product, just a company that has decided you do not need to know.

The lid is where sets cheat

Almost every glass storage set has a plastic lid, and a lot of “glass storage” marketing quietly does not mention it. Two things worth checking:

  • Which plastic? Most makers say only “BPA-free plastic”. That names one thing it is not, rather than what it is.
  • Is there a silicone gasket, and is the lid rated for heat? Manufacturers’ own guidance generally says lids are not oven safe. Follow that — it is their engineering, not ours.
Straight answer

Glass containers with well-fitting lids are a good buy and both brands here are fine to use. The difference between them is that one publishes a formula and one publishes an adjective.

Keep reading

All 136 products in one table  ·  Which brands publish anything at all  ·  All guides

Related pages

One useful email a fortnight

New scores, brands that finally answered, and any rule change that affects what you can buy. The list isn’t open yet — email us and we’ll add you when it is.