MessyPig

30 checked · last checked 29 September 2026

Non-toxic air fryers, rated on what the basket is made of

Scored on what the basket you actually put food in is made of. Almost none of them will name the coating — and the one that does is the cheapest place you would think to look.

A grey air fryer on a wooden bench with its basket pulled out, holding sweet potato fries and crumbed chicken, with rosemary and a linen cloth beside it
Cookware (47)Lunchboxes (27)Food storage (36)Bottles (28)Air fryers (30)

The short version

  • Almost every basket is coated, and almost no maker says with what. “Non-stick” is not a material.
  • “Stainless steel” in the model name usually describes the housing, not the basket you put food in. Check the basket sentence specifically.
  • One brand names the actual coating chemistry — Philips, in a statutory filing, lists tetrafluoroethylene. Everyone else writes “ceramic” or nothing.
  • Nobody in this category publishes a lab report. Not one of the six. The best testing score here is a compliance filing.
  • A glass bowl removes the question — there is no coating to disclose. It is heavier and more breakable, which is the trade.
Why, in full ↓

The 30 we’ve checked

We score what it’s made of, so you don’t have to read the small print

Every score below is out of 100 for the materials — mostly what actually touches your food (60 points), then the lids, seals and handles (25), and whether the maker can back the materials claim up (15).

80–100 bare, inert materials 60–79 mostly inert 40–59 coated, or plastic in contact 0–39 coated, plastic, or unnamed

Bare stainless, cast iron and glass score highest because there is nothing applied to them that can come off. Coatings score lower the less the maker will say about them, and a product whose materials are never named cannot score at all — you can’t call something inert if nobody will tell you what it is.

This is not a safety rating. We run no laboratory. A low score means the food meets a coating or a plastic, or that nobody will say what it meets — which is worth knowing, and is not the same as something being wrong with it. How we score, in full

Ranked by score. Nothing here is a paid link — we are not in any affiliate programme.

53 out of 100 materials score

Coated, or plastic in contact

Touches food53/60
The rest0/25
Backed up0/15
Best material here

Kogan Portable Glass Air Fryer 2.5L & 5L

“Bowl Material: Borosilicate glass” · “Coating: Silicone coating”, location not stated

Fine

Names the bowl as borosilicate glass, which is the best food-contact answer in Kogan’s whole air fryer range and one of the better ones in Australian retail.

Then lists “Coating: Silicone coating” as a bare spec row without saying what is coated. If that is the bowl’s exterior, fine. If it is a rim or a lid seal, it is a food-contact material presented as trim.

They claim
No PFAS, PFOA, PTFE or BPA claim
Made in
UNVERIFIED — not published
Warranty
1 year
Heat
Dishwasher safe (stated)
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • A glass appliance with an unlocated coating is exactly the pattern to be wary of — and Kogan does not make the obvious “no coating chemistry to worry about” claim that a genuinely bare glass bowl would earn. [1]
  • The heating element assembly sits in the lid directly above the food and has no stated material. [1]
  • No borosilicate standard cited and no thermal shock rating, so the glass type is asserted rather than specified. [1]
  • No PFAS, PFOA, PTFE or BPA statement, no country of manufacture, no third-party testing. One-year warranty. [1]

Sources (1)

  1. Kogan Portable Glass Air Fryer 2.5L & 5L
$79.99AUD, Kogan FIRST price; $99.99 otherwise View on kogan.com
47 out of 100 materials score

Coated, or plastic in contact

Touches food34/60
The rest13/25
Backed up0/15

Smeg XL Air Fryer 7.3L AFC01

“PFAS-free ceramic non-stick coating” on the basket · housing plastic, polymer not named

Read the caveats

The only flat PFAS-free claim in this category in Australia. Smeg says “PFAS-free dishwasher safe ceramic basket” and does not hedge it down to PFOA.

It is also completely unsupported. PFAS-free is a much harder claim to stand behind than PFOA-free, and Smeg publishes no lab, no standard and no test method behind it.

They claim
"PFAS-free ceramic non-stick coating"
Made in
Designed in Italy; manufacture UNVERIFIED
Warranty
2 years
Heat
Basket and rack dishwasher safe
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • This is the claim most often contradicted by statutory filings in this category, which is precisely why it would be worth something with a test report attached. High value if true, and currently unverifiable. [1]
  • “Designed in Italy”. Designed, not made — the manufacturing country is not stated anywhere. We do not score design as origin. [1]
  • Smeg separately sells a “Stainless Steel Basket” accessory for this machine, which implies the standard basket is coated metal rather than solid ceramic. [1]
  • Betta’s listing for the same unit drops the PFAS claim entirely and describes only “basket and grill rack” with no material for either. The grill rack’s material is not published anywhere we could find. [2]

Sources (2)

  1. Smeg Australia — air fryer range
  2. Betta — Smeg XL 7.3L Air Fryer Matte Black
$399AUD; $349 at Myer View on smeg.com
34 out of 100 materials score

Coated, plastic, or unnamed

Touches food34/60
The rest0/25
Backed up0/15

Ninja Foodi Smart XL Grill & Air Fryer AG551

Grill grate, crisper basket and cooking pot: ceramic coating, stated PTFE- and PFOA-free

Read the caveats

SharkNinja’s Australian page says the grate, basket and pot are “non-stick PTFE/PFOA-free ceramic coated”. Naming PTFE as the thing excluded is more specific than the PFOA-only wording used across this category.

It is still a coating whose actual chemistry — the sol-gel system under the word “ceramic” — is not published, and nothing independent backs the claim.

They claim
"non-stick PTFE/PFOA-free ceramic coated"
Made in
UNVERIFIED — not published
Warranty
2 years
Heat
All coated parts dishwasher safe
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • Betta sells the same unit cheaper and describes it only as “Non-Stick Ceramic Coating”, dropping the PTFE-free wording entirely. Same appliance, less information, lower price. [2]
  • “PTFE/PFOA-free” is not the same as PFAS-free, and Ninja does not claim PFAS-free here. PTFE is one fluoropolymer among thousands of PFAS. [1]
  • No laboratory, standard or report supports the claim. It is the manufacturer’s assertion. [1]
  • Country of manufacture not stated. [1]

Sources (2)

  1. SharkNinja Australia — AG551
  2. Betta listing of the same unit
$278AUD at Betta; $299.99 from SharkNinja View on sharkninja.com.au
31 out of 100 materials score

Coated, plastic, or unnamed

Touches food14/60
The rest17/25
Backed up0/15

Kogan 10L Dual Zone Flex Drawer Air Fryer

Divider and plates: PTFE over iron · housing polypropylene · cavity and handle polyamide

Read the caveats

The only air fryer we found on sale in Australia that names its basket coating as a chemistry. Kogan’s spec table reads “Divider & Plates: Iron-coated PTFE”.

PTFE is a fluoropolymer, so naming it does not make the coating inert — but every competitor on this page has the same kind of coating and simply does not say so. Kogan is the one that tells you.

They claim
No PFAS, PFOA or BPA claim is made
Made in
UNVERIFIED — not published
Warranty
1 year
Heat
Dishwasher guidance not published
What we’d want you to know (5)
  • The marketing copy on the same page says only “Non-stick removable pot”. The word PTFE appears in the specification table and nowhere else. A buyer who reads the sales copy and skips the spec table learns nothing. [1]
  • “Iron-coated PTFE” is garbled — read literally it says the PTFE is coated in iron, which is backwards. The sense is a PTFE coating on an iron or steel plate. We score it as a disclosed fluoropolymer because that is plainly what is meant. [1]
  • No PFOA, PFAS or BPA claim anywhere on the page. That is consistent rather than evasive: Kogan names the polymer and makes no claim about it either way. [1]
  • Dick Smith, which Kogan owns, lists the identical product with byte-identical material text at the same price. It is the same listing, not a second opinion. [2]
  • No country of manufacture and no third-party testing published, which is true of every Kogan product we checked. [1]

Sources (2)

  1. Kogan 10L Dual Zone Flex Drawer Air Fryer
  2. Dick Smith listing of the same unit
$99.99AUD, Kogan FIRST price; $109 otherwise View on kogan.com
25 out of 100 materials score

Coated, plastic, or unnamed

Touches food8/60
The rest17/25
Backed up0/15

Kogan 11L Double Stack Air Fryer

Drawers and racks: carbon steel with a non-stick coating, chemistry not stated

Read the caveats

Names the substrate — “Drawer & Rack: Carbon steel” — which most of this category will not do, and then stops at “non-stick coated” for the layer on top of it.

Kogan also names the housing plastics properly: polypropylene, polycarbonate and ABS on the outside, zinc plate inside.

They claim
No PFAS, PFOA, PTFE or BPA claim
Made in
UNVERIFIED — not published
Warranty
1 year
Heat
Dishwasher safe (stated)
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • Knowing the substrate is carbon steel is genuinely useful — it tells you what is left when the coating goes. It does not tell you what the coating is. [1]
  • “Removable, dishwasher-safe components” on coated carbon steel. Dishwashing is the standard way to destroy a non-stick coating, and no coating type is named to justify the claim. [1]
  • Polycarbonate is named in the outer housing. Kogan makes no BPA statement anywhere on the page, and polycarbonate is the polymer the BPA question was invented for. It is a non-contact part, but the silence is odd given how cheap that claim is to make. [1]
  • Kogan’s own-brand air fryers make no PFAS-family claim at all. Its Ovela cookware line, same company, claims “Free from harmful chemicals like PTFE and PFOA”. Two disclosure standards under one roof. [1] [2]

Sources (2)

  1. Kogan 11L Double Stack Air Fryer
  2. Ovela 5 Piece Granite Non-Stick Set — “Free from harmful chemicals like PTFE and PFOA”
$109AUD, Kogan FIRST price View on kogan.com
25 out of 100 materials score

Coated, plastic, or unnamed

Touches food8/60
The rest17/25
Backed up0/15

Kogan 6L XL Digital Air Fryer

“Polypropylene + Cold rolled sheet” · basket carries a non-stick coating, not named

Read the caveats

The material field says “Polypropylene + Cold rolled sheet” — housing and basket steel — and omits the coating that the feature list separately advertises.

So the spec table and the feature list disagree about what the product is made of, and the coating exists in only one of them.

They claim
No PFAS, PFOA, PTFE or BPA claim
Made in
UNVERIFIED — not published
Warranty
1 year
Heat
Dishwasher safe (stated)
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • “Cold rolled sheet” describes how the steel was formed, not what grade it is. It is more than most retailers give and less than a specification. [1]
  • “Dishwasher Safe: Yes” on a coating that is never identified. [1]
  • No PFAS, PFOA, PTFE or BPA statement. [1]
  • Kogan’s company-level position on product safety names no standard: “All the Kogan branded products available on the Kogan.com platform must comply with our extremely high product safety standards”. Those standards are not published. The third-party element is “inspected by third party professional inspectors during production” — production QC, not materials testing. [2]

Sources (2)

  1. Kogan 6L XL Digital Air Fryer
  2. Kogan ESG — product safety and quality
$64.99AUD, Kogan FIRST price; $149 otherwise View on kogan.com
21 out of 100 materials score

Coated, plastic, or unnamed

Touches food8/60
The rest13/25
Backed up0/15

Ninja Air Fryer 4.7L Pro

“Non-stick basket and crisper plate” — coating type not named

They won't say

Australia’s best-selling air fryer brand. The product page says “non-stick” and that is the entire material disclosure.

No coating type, no country, no testing, and — unusually — no “free of” claim either.

They claim
None made
Made in
UNVERIFIED
Warranty
2 years
Heat
Not stated
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • “Non-stick” is a property, not a material. Ceramic sol-gel and PTFE are both non-stick and they are different things. [1]
  • No PFOA or PFAS claim is made at all on the Australian page. That means they cannot overclaim — but it also means a shopper trying to avoid fluoropolymers gets no answer either way. [1]
  • Two year warranty stated, exclusions not detailed on the product page. [1]
  • Sibling brand context: Cosori air fryers were recalled in the US over fire risk in 2023 and affected units reached Australian retailers. We could not confirm an ACCC recall number for the Australian arm of that, so we are noting it as US-recall-with-Australian-exposure rather than an ACCC recall.

Sources (1)

  1. Ninja Air Fryer 4.7L Pro, SharkNinja Australia
$129.99on sale from $169.99 View on sharkninja.com.au
21 out of 100 materials score

Coated, plastic, or unnamed

Touches food8/60
The rest13/25
Backed up0/15

Ninja Crispi 4-in-1 Portable Glass Air Fryer

Borosilicate glass containers · two crisper plates, material and coating not stated

Read the caveats

Sold on glass, and the glass is properly named — borosilicate, which is the right answer for something cycled from freezer to 200°C.

But it ships with two crisper plates that sit under the food, and neither the retailer nor SharkNinja’s Australian page says what they are made of. The food does not rest on the glass; it rests on the plate.

They claim
"non-toxic cooking and storage" — asserted of the glass, not the plates
Made in
UNVERIFIED — not published
Warranty
2 years
Heat
All accessories dishwasher safe
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • SharkNinja’s Australian page calls the containers “thermal shock resistant containers designed for safe, non-toxic cooking and storage”. “Non-toxic” is attached to the glass. The two coated inserts are not mentioned in the same breath. [2]
  • This is the recurring trap in glass air fryers, and Australia has a documented case of it. CHOICE bought the Kmart glass air fryer and found it shipped with “a non-stick tray insert”, while “the images on Kmart’s website show what appears to be a steel mesh tray”. Their advice was to buy a stainless replacement tray separately. [3]
  • Naming borosilicate is genuinely good and rare — Kmart names the glass on a $9 lunchbox and not on its $20 oven-rated storage set. [1]
  • Country of manufacture not stated. No third-party testing cited. [1] [2]

Sources (3)

  1. JB Hi-Fi — Ninja Crispi
  2. SharkNinja Australia — Ninja Crispi
  3. CHOICE — Healthy Choice vs Kmart glass air fryers
$299AUD, JB Hi-Fi View on jbhifi.com.au
21 out of 100 materials score

Coated, plastic, or unnamed

Touches food8/60
The rest13/25
Backed up0/15

Breville the Smart Oven Air Fryer XL BOV905

Housing “Stainless steel and Plastic” · basket, racks, pizza pan and roasting pan coatings not stated

Avoid

The most expensive appliance in this table, and its entire materials disclosure is “Stainless steel and Plastic”.

It ships with a “30cm non-stick pizza pan” whose coating is unnamed, an “enamel roasting pan” whose enamel is unspecified, an air fry basket with no material at all, and — per the sibling model’s manual — an oven cavity that is itself coated.

They claim
No PFAS, PFOA, PTFE or BPA claim
Made in
UNVERIFIED — not published
Warranty
Not published on the product page
Heat
Accessories: dishwasher not recommended
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • Breville’s own manual for the BOV860 states “The walls on the inside of the oven feature a non-stick coating for easy cleaning”. So the cavity is coated too, and that coating is not named either. [2]
  • The same manual says “To extend the life of your accessories, we do not recommend that these be placed in the dishwasher” — an acknowledgement that the coatings degrade, attached to coatings that are never identified. [2]
  • No PFAS, PFOA, PTFE or BPA statement on the product page or in the manual. [1] [2]
  • Myer sells it for $799, thirty dollars above Breville’s own price, and publishes no material information at all. Myer product pages render no description, specification or material text — across fifteen listings from $10 containers to this, we found none. [3]

Sources (3)

  1. Breville Australia — BOV905
  2. Breville BOV860 instruction book — the coated oven cavity
  3. Myer — Breville the Smart Oven Air Fryer XL
$769AUD from Breville; $799 at Myer View on breville.com
17 out of 100 materials score

Coated, plastic, or unnamed

Touches food0/60
The rest17/25
Backed up0/15

Breville Smart Oven Air Fryer (BOV860)

“Brushed Stainless Steel” describes the housing · the basket and pans have no material named

They won't say

An Australian-founded company, a $579 appliance, and the food-contact surfaces are not described at all.

The stainless steel named on the page is the outside. The air-fry basket, the “non-stick pizza pan” and the enamel roasting pan get no material between them.

They claim
None made
Made in
UNVERIFIED
Warranty
See their warranty page
Heat
Not published on the product page
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • The product page makes no non-stick safety claim of any kind — not PFOA-free, not PFAS-free, not ceramic, nothing — on an appliance whose central function is a non-stick basket. That is unusual, and it cuts both ways: nothing to overclaim, and nothing to check. [1]
  • No country of manufacture on the product page. [1]
  • No third-party testing published. [1]
  • Brand recall history, for context rather than against this model: Breville has had ACCC recalls on other appliances, including the BPR200 Fast Slow Cooker over unexpected pressure release and scald risk. No recall found for the BOV860. [2]

Sources (2)

  1. Breville Smart Oven Air Fryer BOV860, Australia
  2. ACCC recall, Breville BPR200 Fast Slow Cooker
17 out of 100 materials score

Coated, plastic, or unnamed

Touches food0/60
The rest17/25
Backed up0/15

Kogan 10L XXL Digital Air Fryer

“Polypropylene & Stainless Steel 304” — describes the exterior; basket not stated

Avoid

This is the trap worth learning. The material field says “Polypropylene & Stainless Steel 304”, and a shopper reasonably reads that as the basket.

It is not. Read in context — “Premium stainless steel design. Durable stainless steel complements any kitchen” — the 304 is the outside of the box. The basket is never described at all.

They claim
No claim of any kind
Made in
UNVERIFIED — not published
Warranty
1 year
Heat
Not published
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • A named alloy sitting exactly where a food-contact disclosure belongs, describing the part you never eat from. We score the food-contact surface as unstated, because it is. [1]
  • No non-stick statement of any kind, so the page does not even concede a coating exists on a 10-litre basket fryer. [1]
  • Kogan’s own category page and product page showed different prices for this unit on the day we checked — $84.99 against $79.99. [1]
  • No PFAS, PFOA, PTFE or BPA claim. No country of manufacture. No dishwasher guidance. [1]

Sources (1)

  1. Kogan 10L XXL Digital Air Fryer
$79.99AUD, Kogan FIRST price; $89.99 otherwise View on kogan.com
14 out of 100 materials score

Coated, plastic, or unnamed

Touches food14/60
The rest0/25
Backed up0/15

Tefal Easy Fry & Pizza Air Fryer

Removable pan: PTFE · ribbed surface plate non-stick, chemistry not separately stated

Read the caveats

Betta’s specification table carries a coating-material field, and for this product it reads “Removable pan PTFE”. Tefal’s own marketing for the same unit says “non-stick” and stops.

So the retailer discloses more than the manufacturer. That is the reverse of the usual pattern and worth knowing when you shop: on this one category, Betta’s spec table is the most informative thing in Australian retail.

They claim
"0% PFOA, 0% lead, 0% cadmium" (range-wide claim; PTFE is not excluded)
Made in
UNVERIFIED — not published
Warranty
1 year
Heat
Dishwasher safe — bowl
What we’d want you to know (5)
  • Tefal is open about PTFE elsewhere. Its cookware commitments page argues “PTFE is an inert substance with no effect on health, even in the case of ingestion” and notes it is used to coat pacemakers. Whatever you make of that, the company is not hiding the polymer — it just does not put it on the product page. [2]
  • Tefal’s standard claim across its range is “0% PFOA, 0% lead, 0% cadmium”. Three noughts, none of them PTFE, which is the compound actually in the pan. [2]
  • Betta’s own spec field is applied inconsistently. Two other Tefal air fryers on the same site, at higher prices, have no PTFE row at all — the field is simply blank. [3] [4]
  • Housing material, country of manufacture and any third-party testing: none published. [1]
  • One-year manufacturer warranty, against a two-year norm for Ninja, Philips, Breville and Smeg in this category. [1]

Sources (4)

  1. Betta listing — the “Removable pan PTFE” spec row
  2. Tefal cookware commitments — its PTFE position
  3. Betta, Tefal 8.3L Dual Easy Fry Essential XXL — no coating row
  4. Betta, Tefal Dual Easy Fry & Grill 11L — no coating row
$249AUD, at Betta View on betta.com.au
14 out of 100 materials score

Coated, plastic, or unnamed

Touches food8/60
The rest0/25
Backed up6/15

Anko Portable Glass Air Fryer (Kmart)

Glass containers, type not stated · tray insert not described on the listing

Avoid

Kmart’s answer to the glass air fryer, and the one CHOICE actually bought and opened.

CHOICE reports it arrives with “a non-stick tray insert” while “the images on Kmart’s website show what appears to be a steel mesh tray”. If you bought this specifically to get away from coatings, you did not.

They claim
No PFAS, PFOA, PTFE or BPA claim of any kind
Made in
UNVERIFIED — not published
Warranty
12 months
Heat
“Clean according to given instructions”
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • CHOICE’s workaround, in their words: “If you are looking to avoid non-stick materials, you can find a stainless steel air fryer tray online for $10–$30.” A $99 appliance that needs a $10–$30 part to do what its category implies. [2]
  • The Kmart listing does not mention the tray at all — not its existence, not its material, not its coating. The glass containers are named as glass but not as a type; the comparable Healthy Choice glass fryer ships a stainless crisping tray and says so. [1] [2]
  • The only certification-shaped statement is “Tested to applicable Australian electrical safety standards and certified as compliant”. That is electrical safety. It says nothing about what touches food, and no certifying body is named. [1]
  • Twelve-month warranty. Country of manufacture not stated, as on every Kmart product we checked. [1]

Sources (2)

  1. Kmart — Portable Glass Air Fryer
  2. CHOICE — Healthy Choice vs Kmart glass air fryers
14 out of 100 materials score

Coated, plastic, or unnamed

Touches food8/60
The rest0/25
Backed up6/15

Anko 5.75L Air Fryer (Target)

“Removable pot with non-stick coating” — coating chemistry not stated

Avoid

Target’s product template has a dedicated “Materials and Composition” field. On this air fryer it is simply absent.

The only material words anywhere on the page are “Removable pot with non-stick coating”. We know a coating exists because Target says so, and that is the end of what we know.

They claim
No PFAS, PFOA, PTFE or BPA claim
Made in
UNVERIFIED — not published
Warranty
12 months
Heat
“Clean according to given instructions”
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • Sold with the line “Healthy way for frying without oil”. The health framing rests entirely on a release surface the page will not name, heated to 200°C. [1]
  • Testing, verbatim: “Tested to applicable Australian electrical safety standards and certified as compliant” and “Durability and performance testing carried out prior to QA approval”. The first is electrical. The second is the vendor testing itself. Neither names a body. [1]
  • Target Australia’s own-brand kitchenware is Anko — the same house brand as Kmart, both Wesfarmers’ Kmart Group. Buying the Target version instead of the Kmart one gets you the same supplier. [2]
  • Twelve months. Country of manufacture not stated. [1]

Sources (2)

  1. Target — Anko Air Fryer 5.75L
  2. Kmart Group Ethical Sourcing Code, hosted on Target’s domain — “Kmart Australia, Target Australia and Anko Global”
14 out of 100 materials score

Coated, plastic, or unnamed

Touches food8/60
The rest0/25
Backed up6/15

Anko 5.3L Air Fryer (Target)

“Removable pot with non-stick coating” — coating chemistry not stated

Avoid

The cheap one, and the disclosure is identical to the $79 model: a coating is acknowledged, never named.

“Cool touch housing” is the only other material word, and it describes a temperature rather than a material.

They claim
No PFAS, PFOA, PTFE or BPA claim
Made in
UNVERIFIED — not published
Warranty
12 months
Heat
“Clean according to given instructions”
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • “Provides a healthier method of frying” — the same unsubstantiated framing over the same unnamed coating. [1]
  • “Durability and performance testing carried out prior to QA approval” is the manufacturer testing its own product. It is offered on the page in the position where independent testing would go. [1]
  • No PFOA claim. Worth noting, because Anko’s frypans do carry a PFOA-free claim — the air fryers, where the coating gets hottest, do not even make the easy claim. [1] [2]
  • Twelve months. Country of manufacture not stated. [1]

Sources (2)

  1. Target — Anko Air Fryer 5.3L
  2. Target — Anko Anodised Non-Stick Frypan 24cm, which does claim PFOA-free
14 out of 100 materials score

Coated, plastic, or unnamed

Touches food8/60
The rest0/25
Backed up6/15

Sunbeam Alinea Pro DiamondForce 6L Air Fryer

“DiamondForce” coating — diamond particles in a binder that is never named

Avoid

Marketed hard on a coating: “diamond particle infused”, “2X more durable”, “strong interlock matrix layer”.

Diamond particles are a filler. The binder holding them is the coating, and Sunbeam never names it. “DiamondForce” describes what is sprinkled in, not what it is sprinkled into.

They claim
"DiamondForce™ coating is PFOA-free and safe for everyday use"
Made in
UNVERIFIED — not published for this model
Warranty
12 months, replacement
Heat
DiamondForce tray dishwasher safe
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • The claim is “DiamondForce™ coating is PFOA-free and safe for everyday use”. PFOA is a legacy processing aid phased out of cookware manufacture years ago, so the claim is close to costless. It does not exclude PTFE and does not exclude PFAS. [1]
  • “2x more durable than traditional non-stick cookware. Scratch tested and compared to traditional non-stick coating” — no laboratory, no standard, and “traditional non-stick” as the comparator baseline. [1]
  • The third-party marker on the page is a “WeMoney People’s Choice Award” for “Best For Value”. That is a consumer-finance award, not materials testing. [1]
  • Sunbeam markets this coating aggressively on one range and says nothing at all on another. Its AFP6000BK multi-zone oven, sold at Myer for $249, discloses only that the parts are dishwasher safe and “Made in China to Sunbeam’s specification” — and that is from the user manual, not the listing. [2]

Sources (2)

  1. Sunbeam Alinea Pro DiamondForce 6L Air Fryer
  2. Sunbeam AFP6000BK Multi-Zone Air Fryer Oven user guide
13 out of 100 materials score

Coated, plastic, or unnamed

Touches food0/60
The rest13/25
Backed up0/15

Westinghouse 25L Digital Benchtop Air Fryer Oven

“Durable black painted steel” housing · trays and racks not described

Avoid

“Durable black painted steel” is the headline material, and it describes the box. Not the cavity, not the trays, not the racks.

A painted-steel exterior on a benchtop oven is a finish claim. Nothing on this page describes anything that touches food.

They claim
No claim of any kind
Made in
UNVERIFIED — not published
Warranty
1 year
Heat
Not published
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • This is the same trap as the Kogan 10L and the Breville: a real material named in the position where a food-contact disclosure belongs, describing a part you never eat from. [1] [2]
  • No PFAS, PFOA, PTFE or BPA statement. [1]
  • One-year warranty on a $399 appliance — the shortest-to-price ratio in this category. [1]
  • Country of manufacture not stated. [1]

Sources (2)

  1. Betta — Westinghouse 25L Digital Benchtop Air Fryer Oven
  2. Kogan 10L XXL Digital Air Fryer — the same exterior-as-disclosure pattern
$399AUD at Betta View on betta.com.au
8 out of 100 materials score

Coated, plastic, or unnamed

Touches food8/60
The rest0/25
Backed up0/15

Ninja Foodi Dual Zone Air Fryer AF300

Crisper plates: ceramic coating · drawers: “non-stick”, chemistry not stated

Read the caveats

Australia’s best-selling dual-basket air fryer. “Ceramic coated” is attached to the two crisper plates — and only to them.

The drawers themselves, which are the larger food-contact surface and the part everything sits in, are described as “non-stick” with no chemistry given. We score the drawer, not the plate.

They claim
No PFAS, PFOA or PTFE claim on the Australian listings
Made in
UNVERIFIED — not published
Warranty
2 years
Heat
Crisper plates dishwasher safe
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • This split — ceramic claimed for the small insert, nothing said about the basket — recurs across the category. Russell Hobbs does the same thing with its 5.5L Satisfry: “Ceramic crisping plate: Yes”, basket surface unstated. [1] [3]
  • No PFAS, PFOA, PTFE or BPA statement on either retailer’s listing. [1] [2]
  • Ninja’s own Australian support desk names the coating for a different model — the AF160 basket and crisper plate are “made of aluminium and have a Ceramic Non-stick coating, It is Teflon and PFOA Free”. That statement is about the AF160 and does not carry across to this model. “Teflon-free” is also a claim about a trademark rather than a chemistry. [4]
  • Country of manufacture not stated by Ninja or either retailer. [1] [2]

Sources (4)

  1. JB Hi-Fi — Ninja AF300
  2. Betta — Ninja Foodi Dual Zone
  3. Betta — Russell Hobbs 5.5L Satisfry, the same plate-not-basket split
  4. Ninja Australia support — AF160 FAQ
$249AUD, JB Hi-Fi and Betta View on jbhifi.com.au
8 out of 100 materials score

Coated, plastic, or unnamed

Touches food8/60
The rest0/25
Backed up0/15

Contempo Digital Window Airfryer 5L (Big W)

“Basket: Removable with non-stick coating” — chemistry and substrate not stated

Avoid

Big W’s house-brand appliance line. The spec sheet has a basket row, which is more than Kmart manages, and the row reads “Removable with non-stick coating”.

The coating is acknowledged and unnamed, and the metal under it is not given either.

They claim
No PFAS, PFOA, PTFE or BPA claim of any kind
Made in
UNVERIFIED — not published
Warranty
Not published on the product page
Heat
Not published on the product page
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • Across all three Contempo air fryers — $69, $79 and $99 — the only material word used for the food-contact surface is “non-stick”. Not once is the coating identified, and not once is PFAS, PFOA or PTFE addressed either way. [1] [2] [3]
  • The viewing window material is not stated, and neither is the housing. [1]
  • No warranty, no dishwasher guidance and no country of manufacture on the product page. A manual is linked but its contents are not surfaced. [1]
  • Big W’s parent group does have a PFAS policy — POL.088, PFAS Policy V2, updated May 2025. It is listed by name on the supplier portal and hosted behind a supplier login, so its scope cannot be checked from outside. [4]

Sources (5)

  1. Big W — Contempo Digital Window Airfryer 5L
  2. Big W — Contempo Digital Dual Air Fryer 8L
  3. Big W — Contempo Digital Slimline Air Fryer 8L
  4. BIG W vendor portal — POL.088 PFAS Policy V2 listed by name
8 out of 100 materials score

Coated, plastic, or unnamed

Touches food8/60
The rest0/25
Backed up0/15

Contempo Digital Dual Air Fryer 8L (Big W)

“Removable non-stick draw divider” — the drawers themselves are not described

Avoid

The word non-stick is attached to the divider. The two 4-litre drawers that hold the food are not described as any material at all.

Same pattern as the Ninja and the Russell Hobbs: the small insert gets a material claim, the big surface gets nothing.

They claim
No PFAS, PFOA, PTFE or BPA claim
Made in
UNVERIFIED — not published
Warranty
Not published on the product page
Heat
Not published
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • The page advertises Dehydrate and Proof — long, low cycles with food resting against an unidentified coating for hours rather than minutes. [1]
  • No PFAS, PFOA, PTFE or BPA statement. [1]
  • No warranty, dishwasher guidance or country of manufacture published. [1]
  • “draw divider” is Big W’s own spelling on the live page. Small thing, but it is a supplier-copy tell — and supplier copy is where material fields go to die. [1]

Sources (1)

  1. Big W — Contempo Digital Dual Air Fryer 8L
8 out of 100 materials score

Coated, plastic, or unnamed

Touches food8/60
The rest0/25
Backed up0/15

Contempo Digital Slimline Air Fryer 8L (Big W)

“Removable Non-Stick Basket and Rack” — chemistry and substrate not stated

Avoid

Big W’s most expensive own-brand fryer, and the disclosure does not improve with price: both the basket and the rack are “non-stick” and neither is named.

At $99 this sits within $30 of a Ninja that at least tells you “ceramic”, and within $1 of a Kogan that tells you “PTFE”.

They claim
No PFAS, PFOA, PTFE or BPA claim
Made in
UNVERIFIED — not published
Warranty
Not published on the product page
Heat
Not published
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • Ten pre-set functions, a viewing window and a flip alert are all specified. The coating is not. [1]
  • No PFAS, PFOA, PTFE or BPA statement, consistent with the rest of the Contempo line. [1]
  • No warranty, dishwasher guidance or country of manufacture on the page. [1]
  • Big W’s own-brand disclosure is consistently thinner than the branded goods beside it. Decor names “Tritan” on a $5.75 bottle; Brilliant Basics names nothing on a $5 one. [2]

Sources (2)

  1. Big W — Contempo Digital Slimline Air Fryer 8L
  2. Big W — Decor Quad Bands Tritan Bottle 750ml
6 out of 100 materials score

Coated, plastic, or unnamed

Touches food0/60
The rest0/25
Backed up6/15

Anko Twin Air Fryer 9L (Target)

Nothing stated — no material field, no coating word

Avoid

“Two removable frying pans” and an “oil drip tray”. Three food-contact parts, and the page does not say what any of them is made of.

It does not even use the word non-stick. On the two cheaper Anko fryers you at least learn a coating exists.

They claim
No claim of any kind
Made in
UNVERIFIED — not published
Warranty
12 months
Heat
No care instructions published
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • Every material field is empty. No body metal, no basket, no coating, no housing, no lids. On an $85 appliance. [1]
  • “Tested to applicable Australian electrical safety standards” plus in-house QA is the whole of the testing story, and neither touches materials. [1]
  • No care instructions at all — not even the boilerplate “clean according to given instructions” that the other Anko fryers carry. [1]
  • Also sold by Kmart under the same Anko brand. Same group, same supplier, same silence. [2]

Sources (2)

  1. Target — Anko Twin Air Fryer 9L
  2. Kmart Group Ethical Sourcing Code — Kmart, Target and Anko Global are one group
0 out of 100 materials score

Coated, plastic, or unnamed

Touches food0/60
The rest0/25
Backed up0/15

Anko 7.5L Air Fryer (Kmart)

Nothing stated — no material field anywhere on the listing

Avoid

Kmart’s big seller, and a zero. The specification block lists capacity, dimensions, wattage, weight and colour. There is no material field.

“Removable frying basket for easy cleaning” is the only reference to the part that touches your food, and it describes a convenience rather than a substance.

They claim
No claim of any kind
Made in
UNVERIFIED — not published
Warranty
12 months
Heat
“Clean according to given instructions”
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • Across four Kmart air fryers, the words PFAS, PFOA, PTFE, BPA, non-stick, ceramic and coating appear a combined total of zero times. [1] [2] [3]
  • The basket is offered as easy to clean, with no instruction on how to clean it and no disclosure of what would be worn away if you cleaned it wrongly. [1]
  • Kmart does publish a PFOA-free claim — on its $7 frypans. The claim is made where the coating is coolest and withheld where it is hottest. [4]
  • Twelve-month warranty. Country of manufacture not stated on any Kmart product we checked. [1]

Sources (4)

  1. Kmart — 7.5L Air Fryer
  2. Kmart — 5L Air Fryer Black
  3. Kmart — 4L Air Fryer Space Saving
  4. Kmart — 28cm Aluminium Non-Stick Frypan, which does claim PFOA-free
0 out of 100 materials score

Coated, plastic, or unnamed

Touches food0/60
The rest0/25
Backed up0/15

Anko 5L Air Fryer (Kmart)

Nothing stated — the word “basket” does not appear on the page

Avoid

No material field, and this one does not even name the basket. The listing is capacity, dimensions, watts, weight, colour.

It is sold on “crispy, golden results with little to no oil” — a claim that depends entirely on a release surface the page declines to acknowledge exists.

They claim
No claim of any kind
Made in
UNVERIFIED — not published
Warranty
12 months
Heat
“Clean according to given instructions”
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • Kmart sells a second 5L fryer at $29 in “Silver Look” with identical capacity, identical wattage and identical dimensions, differing by 100g of stated weight. Neither discloses a material. “Silver Look” is itself doing work: it signals metal without claiming it. [2]
  • No PFAS, PFOA, PTFE or BPA statement. [1]
  • No dishwasher guidance for a basket whose material is unstated. [1]
  • Twelve months. Country of manufacture not stated. [1]

Sources (2)

  1. Kmart — 5L Air Fryer Black
  2. Kmart — 5L Air Fryer Silver Look
0 out of 100 materials score

Coated, plastic, or unnamed

Touches food0/60
The rest0/25
Backed up0/15

Anko 4L Air Fryer Space Saving (Kmart)

Nothing stated — “with drip tray” is the only component named

Avoid

Two food-contact parts implied — a basket and a drip tray — and no material given for either.

The specification block is unusually detailed about capacity: full 4 litres, 3.2 litres cooking, 2.2kg maximum food load. It is precise about everything except what the food touches.

They claim
No claim of any kind
Made in
UNVERIFIED — not published
Warranty
12 months
Heat
“Clean according to given instructions”
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • The page will tell you the maximum weight of food to the tenth of a kilogram and will not tell you what that food sits on. [1]
  • No PFAS, PFOA, PTFE or BPA statement. [1]
  • Also listed by Betta as part of the Anko range with the same absence of material information. [1]
  • Twelve months. Country of manufacture not stated. [1]

Sources (1)

  1. Kmart — 4L Air Fryer Space Saving
0 out of 100 materials score

Coated, plastic, or unnamed

Touches food0/60
The rest0/25
Backed up0/15

Kogan 30L XXXL Digital Air Fryer Oven

Nothing stated — the specification table has no material field of any kind

Avoid

Dimensions, weight, presets, timer, power, warranty. No material field for the cavity, the racks, the crumb tray, the housing or the door.

A 30-litre oven ships with several food-contact accessories and this listing describes none of them.

They claim
No claim of any kind
Made in
UNVERIFIED — not published
Warranty
1 year
Heat
Not published by Kogan
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • The only dishwasher claim on the page is inside a customer review — “all the internal components are dishwasher safe”. That is a shopper’s sentence, not Kogan’s, and we do not score it. [1]
  • Kogan’s 45L oven is the same story one size up: the only material words on the whole page are “Double glass door”, with the glass type unstated, while “All accessories are removable and dishwasher-safe” is claimed for accessories that have no stated material. [2]
  • No PFAS, PFOA, PTFE or BPA statement. [1]
  • Kogan’s largest and most expensive air fryers have its thinnest material disclosure. [1] [2]

Sources (2)

  1. Kogan 30L XXXL Digital Air Fryer Oven
  2. Kogan 45L XXXXL Digital Air Fryer Oven
$139AUD, Kogan FIRST price; $349.99 otherwise View on kogan.com
0 out of 100 materials score

Coated, plastic, or unnamed

Touches food0/60
The rest0/25
Backed up0/15

Philips 3000 Series Airfryer XXL 7.2L

Nothing stated — no basket material or coating on Philips’ own page

Avoid

The biggest name in air fryers, and neither the retailer nor Philips itself names the basket coating. The JB Hi-Fi listing does not contain the words non-stick.

Philips has literally written the article that answers this — support document XC000021623, “What materials and coatings are used in my Philips Airfryer?” We tried the US, Indian and UAE versions. The heading renders every time. The answer never does.

They claim
No PFAS, PFOA, PTFE or BPA claim anywhere we could reach
Made in
UNVERIFIED — not published
Warranty
2 years
Heat
“No scrubbing or soaking”
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • That article opens “To find out what materials we use for the parts that come in contact with the food in the Philips Airfryer, please read the article below” — and then the body does not load. No Philips product page links to it either. [2]
  • The 9L dual-basket model at $399 is the same: no coating named, and the only care guidance is “No scrubbing or soaking” — which implies a fragile coating without ever saying what it is. [3]
  • The 2000 Series 4.2L on Philips’ own Australian site names no basket material, no coating, no PTFE/PFOA/PFAS/BPA status and no country of origin. [4]
  • Two-year warranty, which is the category norm. Country of manufacture not stated. [1]

Sources (4)

  1. Philips Australia — 3000 Series Airfryer 7.2L
  2. Philips support article XC000021623 — heading renders, body does not
  3. JB Hi-Fi — Philips 3000 Series Dual Basket 9L
  4. Philips Australia — 2000 Series Airfryer 4.2L
$349AUD at JB Hi-Fi; $199 at Myer View on philips.com.au
0 out of 100 materials score

Coated, plastic, or unnamed

Touches food0/60
The rest0/25
Backed up0/15

Russell Hobbs Satisfry 8L Digital Air Fryer

Nothing stated — the words “non-stick” do not appear

Avoid

An 8-litre basket rated to 220°C, holding up to 2.2kg of food, and the listing never says what the basket is.

“Dishwasher safe parts: Yes” is the closest the page gets to describing a surface.

They claim
No claim of any kind
Made in
UNVERIFIED — not published
Warranty
2 years
Heat
Dishwasher safe parts (stated)
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • 220°C is stated precisely. The material that reaches 220°C is not stated at all. [1]
  • No PFAS, PFOA, PTFE or BPA statement. [1]
  • The 5.5L model in the same range does better, but only just: “Ceramic crisping plate: Yes” is a spec-sheet checkbox with no chemistry, and it covers the plate rather than the basket. [2]
  • Two-year warranty. Country of manufacture not stated. [1]

Sources (2)

  1. Betta — Russell Hobbs 8L Satisfry Digital Air Fryer
  2. Betta — Russell Hobbs 5.5L Satisfry
$199AUD at Betta View on betta.com.au
0 out of 100 materials score

Coated, plastic, or unnamed

Touches food0/60
The rest0/25
Backed up0/15

Ninja DoubleStack XL 2 Basket Air Fryer SL400

Nothing stated — not even the word “non-stick”

Avoid

Ninja’s stacked two-basket machine, and the thinnest Ninja listing we found in Australia.

Two baskets and a set of stackable meal racks, and the page describes the material of none of them.

They claim
No claim of any kind
Made in
UNVERIFIED — not published
Warranty
2 years
Heat
Not published
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • Ninja’s other Australian listings at least reach “ceramic” or “non-stick”. This one reaches neither. [1] [2]
  • No PFAS, PFOA, PTFE or BPA statement. [1]
  • No care guidance, no dishwasher statement, no country of manufacture. [1]
  • Two-year warranty, which is Ninja’s consistent standard across the range. [1]

Sources (2)

  1. Betta — Ninja DoubleStack XL SL400
  2. JB Hi-Fi — Ninja AF300, which does say “ceramic coated” of the crisper plates
$288AUD at Betta, from $499 View on betta.com.au
0 out of 100 materials score

Coated, plastic, or unnamed

Touches food0/60
The rest0/25
Backed up0/15

Sunbeam 22L Multi Function Benchtop Oven & Air Fryer BT7200

Nothing stated for any of the four food-contact accessories

Avoid

Ships a mesh air fry basket, a baking pan, a wire rack and a removable crumb tray. Four food-contact parts, four blanks.

A mesh basket may well be bare metal, which would be the best answer in this whole category — but Sunbeam does not say so, so it cannot be scored as one.

They claim
No claim of any kind
Made in
UNVERIFIED — not published on the listing
Warranty
1 year
Heat
Not published
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • The baking pan in particular is almost certainly coated, and nothing is said about it. [1]
  • Sunbeam sells its DiamondForce coating hard on another range and says nothing at all here. Same brand, two disclosure standards, one catalogue. [2]
  • No PFAS, PFOA, PTFE or BPA statement. [1]
  • One-year warranty. Country of manufacture not stated on the listing. [1]

Sources (2)

  1. Betta — Sunbeam 22L Multi Function Benchtop Oven & Air Fryer
  2. Sunbeam DiamondForce collection
$229AUD at Betta View on betta.com.au

Why an air fryer is worth checking separately

An air fryer is a non-stick pan that runs hotter, for longer, with a fan blowing across it. The basket is the food-contact surface, it gets scraped by tongs and stacked in a cupboard, and most people never think about it the way they think about a frying pan.

The disclosure picture is worse than cookware, not better. In cookware at least a few brands publish certificates. Here, none of the six publishes a laboratory report, and most will not even name the coating material.

The trap in the model name

The clearest example on this page: Cosori sells an air fryer called the Iconic Stainless Steel. It is a genuinely stainless-clad appliance — 304 for the food-contact structure, 430 on the exterior. But Cosori’s own page also says the basket is “ceramic-coated, nonstick”.

Both statements are true and both are theirs. If you bought it to escape coatings, the answer was on the page — just not in the name. Read the sentence about the basket, not the badge.

What “ceramic” means here

The same thing it means on a frying pan: a sol-gel coating, silica and metal oxides sprayed on and fired, whose exact recipe is proprietary. It is genuinely not PTFE. It is also not verifiable from outside. The longer version is here.

The one that names its chemistry

Philips is the outlier and deserves the credit. Their statutory chemical disclosure — filed under the Colorado and California disclosure rules — lists tetrafluoroethylene, the PTFE monomer, against air fryer product codes, and records its hazard classifications alongside it.

That is a brand publishing the hazard listing of its own coating chemistry. It is the most specific composition disclosure in this category by a distance, and it is worth noting that the reward for that honesty is looking worse than competitors who simply say less.

The honest summary

If the coating matters to you, a glass-bowl fryer is the only design here with nothing to disclose. If it does not, the practical advice is the same as for any non-stick surface: do not preheat it empty, do not scrape it with metal, and replace it when the coating starts lifting rather than when it looks tired.

And take the model name as marketing. The basket sentence is the product.

Keep reading

All 168 products in one table  ·  Which brands publish anything at all  ·  All guides

Related pages

One useful email a fortnight

New scores, brands that finally answered, and any rule change that affects what you can buy. The list isn’t open yet — email us and we’ll add you when it is.