MessyPig

26 checked · last checked 1 September 2026

Stainless steel water bottles, rated on what they’re made of

The lead question in steel bottles is real, widely misreported, and easy to sidestep entirely.

Four reusable bottles in a row: a sage insulated bottle with a flip lid, a terracotta insulated bottle, a cream bottle with a loop cap, and a clear glass bottle with a steel infuser
Cookware (38)Lunchboxes (22)Food storage (24)Bottles (26)Air fryers (26)

The short version

  • The lead question is about one soldered dot sealing the vacuum at the base — not the steel.
  • Single-wall bottles don’t have one. No vacuum, no seal, no dot. That ends it.
  • On an intact insulated bottle, two barriers separate the dot from your drink. No normal-use route.
  • A cracked or missing base cap is the real signal — and the exposure route is hands, not water.
  • Current production tests better than older stock, on both the brands’ and their critic’s accounts.
Why, in full ↓

The 26 we’ve checked

We score what it’s made of, so you don’t have to read the small print

Every score below is out of 100 for the materials — mostly what actually touches your food (60 points), then the lids, seals and handles (25), and whether the maker can back the materials claim up (15).

80–100 bare, inert materials 60–79 mostly inert 40–59 coated, or plastic in contact 0–39 coated, plastic, or unnamed

Bare stainless, cast iron and glass score highest because there is nothing applied to them that can come off. Coatings score lower the less the maker will say about them, and a product whose materials are never named cannot score at all — you can’t call something inert if nobody will tell you what it is.

This is not a safety rating. We run no laboratory. A low score means the food meets a coating or a plastic, or that nobody will say what it meets — which is worth knowing, and is not the same as something being wrong with it. How we score, in full

Ranked by score. Nothing here is a paid link — we are not in any affiliate programme.

96 out of 100 materials score

Bare, inert materials

Touches food60/60
The rest25/25
Backed up11/15
Best material here

Pura Sport Mini 11 oz

“18/8 food service-grade stainless steel” · sport top, collar and sleeve all “medical-grade, platinum-cured silicone” · “100% Plastic-Free”

Best material

The only bottle on this site with no plastic in it anywhere. Steel and platinum-cured silicone, and nothing else — not in the lid, not in the spout, not in the collar.

It is also the only one carrying a third-party materials certification: MADE SAFE, which screens ingredients rather than testing a finished sample, but is a named standard rather than an assertion.

They claim
"BPA-free. BPS-free. PP-free. Phthalate-free. Lead free."
Made in
UNVERIFIED — not published anywhere on the site
Warranty
Limited lifetime on the stainless steel components only
Heat
Top-rack dishwasher safe; no temperature limits published
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • The warranty covers only the stainless steel components. The silicone is the wear part and the part actually in the child’s mouth, and it is excluded. [1]
  • No country of manufacture anywhere on the site — unusual for a brand whose entire pitch is material transparency, and the single thing keeping this off a perfect score in our notes. [1] [3]
  • “Why Pura?” says “food service grade stainless steel” without a number; only the product pages say 18/8. The grade is asserted, never sourced or certified. [1] [3]
  • No PFAS statement at all — which on steel and silicone is defensible, and which we note because every competitor makes one. [1]

Sources (3)

  1. Pura Sport Mini 11 oz with sleeve
  2. Pura Kiki 11 oz Sippy — same materials, cold drinks only
  3. Why Pura? — MADE SAFE certification and the grade wording
$28.99with silicone sleeve View on purastainless.com
84 out of 100 materials score

Bare, inert materials

Touches food60/60
The rest13/25
Backed up11/15

YETI Rambler 26 oz Straw Bottle

304 / 18-8 stainless, double-wall vacuum · lead solder in the vacuum seal, disclosed

Buy it

The only brand here that publishes a number for its lead testing — “lead is not detected” at a stated detection limit of 0.002 mg/kg — and concedes in the same breath that lead solder is used in the vacuum seal.

Both of those are true at once, and saying so is the most useful thing any bottle brand on this page does. The steel is named properly. The straw cap is not.

They claim
"All YETI Drinkware is BPA free"; "When YETI Rambler Drinkware is tested, lead is not detected"
Made in
UNVERIFIED — not published
Warranty
Five years
Heat
Dishwasher safe; no stovetop or open flame; straw cap not for hot drinks
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • The steel grade is on the Manufacturing FAQ, not the product page. A buyer reading only the listing gets “18/8”; the 304 equivalence and the lead-solder disclosure are two clicks away. [1] [2]
  • Names its compliance regimes specifically — “accredited third-party labs”, US FDA, California Prop 65, EU REACH and SVHC. No certificate is published, so this is an assertion with named standards rather than evidence. [2]
  • A page titled “Manufacturing FAQ” that does not name a country of manufacture. The omission is conspicuous given the page’s title. [2]
  • The straw cap for this bottle carries a warning against hot drinks, and its polymer is not named. The Magslider lids sold separately are named — polypropylene #5 and Eastman Tritan. [1] [3]

Sources (3)

  1. YETI Rambler 26 oz Color Cap Straw Bottle
  2. YETI Manufacturing FAQ — 304/18-8, the lead detection limit and the solder admission
  3. YETI Rambler FAQ — BPA claim, dishwasher and heat guidance
$40Color Cap Straw View on yeti.com
83 out of 100 materials score

Bare, inert materials

Touches food60/60
The rest17/25
Backed up6/15

Klean Kanteen Kids Classic 12oz

18/8 stainless, 90% recycled, single wall · removable soft silicone spout

Buy it

Single wall, so there is no vacuum seal at the base and therefore no sealing dot — which is the one place lead actually turns up in steel bottles.

Klean Kanteen’s FAQ states 18/8 food-grade steel, no interior plastic or epoxy lining, and manufacture in China. $10 on sale.

They claim
"BPA Free and Lead Free"
Made in
China — stated in FAQ, designed in California
Warranty
Lifetime limited
Heat
Dishwasher safe
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • The 18/8 grade and the country are stated in the company FAQ, not on the product page, which says only “90% Recycled Steel”. Both linked below. [2]
  • Testing scores only 1 of 3, and it is worth being precise about why, because it is easy to read their page as more than it is. Intertek appears twice — as a recycled-content verifier and behind a sustainability certification. Neither is safety testing of this bottle. GreenScreen is not a certification they hold: it is a hazard-scoring method they say they used internally while formulating the Klean Coat exterior powder coat. The bottle itself has no published test report. [2]
  • Klean Kanteen says all its products are lead-free and that its insulated line uses silica/glass plugs rather than lead solder. Independent tester Tamara Rubin disputes this for the insulated bottles and recommends only the non-insulated ones. We found no company response to her specifically. This single-wall bottle sidesteps the argument entirely by having no vacuum seal at all. [3]
  • Hand wash the printed ones if you want the graphics to survive. [1]

Sources (3)

  1. Klean Kanteen 12oz Kids Classic with Sport Cap
  2. Klean Kanteen FAQ — steel grade, lining, country, sealing method
  3. Tamara Rubin, water bottle recommendations and the insulated-bottle dispute
$9.95on sale from $17.95 View on kleankanteen.com
83 out of 100 materials score

Bare, inert materials

Touches food60/60
The rest17/25
Backed up6/15

Thermos FUNtainer 12 oz Bottle

18/8 stainless · polypropylene #5 lid · silicone spout · LDPE stem · no interior coating

Buy it

Names four separate materials by polymer and grade — PP #5 lid, silicone spout, LDPE stem, 18/8 steel. No other bottle on this page does that.

It also states outright that there is no interior coating, which is the question nobody else answers and the one that matters most for an insulated bottle.

They claim
"BPA-free"; products "do not pose a risk of lead exposure"
Made in
China (stated)
Warranty
Five years, defects — excludes wear, fading, abuse and neglect
Heat
Top rack dishwasher; not for hot liquids; no microwave, stovetop or oven
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • “BPA-free stainless steel” is a claim about the wrong material. BPA is a polycarbonate monomer; steel never contained it. The claim is attached to the steel rather than to the lid, which is the part where the question is real. [1]
  • The lead claim is the vaguest form used by any brand here: products “do not pose a risk of lead exposure”. That is a risk conclusion, not a composition statement, and no lab, limit or vacuum-seal disclosure accompanies it. [2]
  • The product page markets 12-hour cold retention; the downloadable care guide escalates to a capitalised “NOT FOR USE WITH HOT LIQUIDS: For cold liquids only”, while the FAQ separately explains how to preheat Thermos products. Three documents, three impressions. [1] [2] [3]
  • Country of manufacture is stated plainly as China. Only three brands in this category do that. [1]

Sources (3)

  1. Thermos FUNtainer 12 oz Water Bottle
  2. Thermos FAQ — the PP#5 / 18-8 / silicone / LDPE breakdown and “no interior coating”
  3. Thermos FUNtainer Care & Use Guide (PDF)
$19.99kids' straw bottle View on thermos.com
83 out of 100 materials score

Bare, inert materials

Touches food60/60
The rest17/25
Backed up6/15

bkr Little Bottle 500 ml

Soda-lime glass · food-grade polypropylene cap · pure silicone gaskets · silicone sleeve

Buy it

Names its glass. Soda-lime, stated plainly, and distinguished on the same page from the borosilicate bkr uses in its cups.

Almost every glass bottle sold says only “glass”. Naming the type is the difference between a material and a marketing word, and it explains the care guidance rather than leaving you to guess.

They claim
"BPA-free, phthalate-free"; "lead safe"
Made in
PRC (stated); designed in San Francisco
Warranty
90 days, defects — plus a one-per-customer 30-day breakage replacement
Heat
Top-rack dishwasher; microwave with sleeve on and cap off; do not freeze; not for boiling water
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • “Lead safe”, not “lead free” — a deliberately weaker word, on the one bottle here with no vacuum seal and therefore no solder, where the stronger claim would have been easiest to make. No laboratory is named. [1]
  • The 90-day manufacturer warranty is the shortest of any bottle on this page, and the separate 30-day breakage replacement is capped at one bottle per customer, ever. [2]
  • Freezing the glass voids the warranty, and that appears only in the FAQ — not on any product listing. Soda-lime tolerates thermal shock poorly, so the rule follows from the material, which is exactly why naming the material matters. [1] [2]
  • Manufacture is stated as PRC with design in San Francisco. Stated plainly rather than implied. [1]

Sources (2)

  1. bkr FAQ — soda-lime vs borosilicate, cap and gasket materials, lead-safe wording
  2. bkr warranty and breakage policy
$4216 oz, glass View on mybkr.com
81 out of 100 materials score

Bare, inert materials

Touches food60/60
The rest21/25
Backed up0/15

Lifefactory 22 oz Glass Bottle

“Soda lime glass” (stated in the FAQ, not on the product page) · polypropylene screw cap · protective silicone sleeve

Buy it

Names its glass — soda-lime — and names the cap resin and the sleeve. Three materials, three answers, which is more than almost any bottle here manages.

You do have to open the FAQ to get the first one. The product page sells “clean glass” and is silent on what that means.

They claim
"BPA-free"
Made in
Glass made in France; cap and sleeve made in the USA; assembled in the USA (stated)
Warranty
One year on glass bottles (five on their steel) — excludes wear, fading, abuse and misuse
Heat
Dishwasher safe with the sleeve on; never the freezer or boiling water; no temperature figures published
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • The FAQ is where the consequence lives, in capitals: “DO NOT PUT OUR GLASS HYDRATION BOTTLES IN THE FREEZER OR BOILING WATER”. Soda-lime is not thermal-shock resistant and their baby bottles, which are borosilicate, are. Same brand, two glasses, one of them explained only if you go looking. [2]
  • “BPA-free” is the headline claim on a glass bottle. It can only be about the polypropylene cap; on the body it was never a question. [1]
  • The headline feature gets the shortest warranty: one year on glass bottles against five on their steel vacuumware, and breakage is not addressed either way. [3]
  • Glass made in France, cap and sleeve made in the US, assembled in the US — component-level origin, which nobody else here publishes. [2]

Sources (3)

  1. Lifefactory 22 oz glass bottle with classic cap
  2. Lifefactory FAQ — soda-lime vs borosilicate, origin, the freezer and boiling-water ban
  3. Lifefactory warranty terms
$22.99classic cap View on lifefactory.com
77 out of 100 materials score

Mostly inert

Touches food60/60
The rest17/25
Backed up0/15

MiiR Wide Mouth Bottle

“18/8 (18% chromium, 8% nickel) medical grade stainless steel” · lids “BPA free polypropylene #5” or Eastman Tritan · exterior “Hardshell™ powder coating”, chemistry not named · gasket not named

Buy it

The best-disclosed steel of any bottle here: MiiR names the actual alloy split, 18% chromium and 8% nickel, rather than leaving “18/8” as a label.

It also names the lid polymers by resin and code, and publishes its supplier cities and audit regime. Use it as the benchmark the rest of this category fails against.

They claim
"BPA-free construction"; lids carry "no bisphenols (BPA, BPS, etc.)"
Made in
China — Wuyi, Yongkang and Shenzhen, with named oversight (stated)
Warranty
Lifetime — replacement, and the original is recycled; no exclusion list published
Heat
Hand wash recommended; lid top-rack dishwasher safe; do not freeze, microwave or bleach
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • “Hardshell™ powder coating” is described as “durable nontoxic” — a trade name plus an adjective, with no chemistry. Powder coats are commonly polyester or epoxy-polyester; MiiR never says which, and “nontoxic” is unverifiable as written. [2]
  • “BPA-free construction” is claimed for the whole bottle, but the body is steel. The claim can only apply to the PP lid, and the framing implies more than it delivers. [1]
  • The gasket is undisclosed across every MiiR product page we read, despite being a direct food-contact part. [1] [2]
  • Country and supplier detail are unusually specific: manufactured in China, in Wuyi, Yongkang and Shenzhen, with MiiR’s own office in Jinhua and required SMETA audits. [3]

Sources (3)

  1. MiiR Wide Mouth Bottle
  2. MiiR — what are MiiR products made of?
  3. MiiR — where are MiiR products made?
$3216, 20 and 32 oz View on miir.com
74 out of 100 materials score

Mostly inert

Touches food60/60
The rest8/25
Backed up6/15

Stanley Quencher H2.0 FlowState 40 oz

90% recycled 18/8 (304) stainless · lid, straw and gasket polymers not named · lead-containing sealing pellet under the base cap

Read the caveats

Stanley names its steel properly — 18/8, and its FAQ spells out that this means grade 304 — and admits, in its own support article, that the vacuum seal uses pellets containing lead.

The claim is encapsulation, not absence: “no lead is present on the surface of any Stanley product that comes into contact with the consumer”. That is a narrower sentence than most people read it as.

They claim
"BPA-free"; "no lead is present on the surface of any Stanley product that comes into contact with the consumer"
Made in
UNVERIFIED on Stanley's site — CPSC recall notice lists China
Warranty
Lifetime on the drinkware body — excludes lids, seals and straws
Heat
Top-rack dishwasher; not microwave or freezer safe
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • The lifetime warranty explicitly excludes “lids, seals and straws” — the parts most likely to fail, on a product whose selling point is the lid. The same company then offers the lifetime warranty specifically if the base cap comes off, which is the failure that would expose the lead pellet. [2] [3]
  • CPSC recall 25-063, December 2024: 2.6 million Switchback and Trigger Action travel mugs, because “the mug’s lid threads can shrink when exposed to heat and torque”. 38 burn injuries globally, 11 needing medical attention. The Quencher was not in that recall — but it is the same maker and the same lid-thread engineering. [4]
  • Consolidated false-advertising class actions over the undisclosed lead were dismissed in Stanley’s favour on 3 April 2026, with leave to amend. The judge held that “the mere presence of lead could not be material to a reasonable consumer” absent a demonstrated risk. [5]
  • The product page says flatly “dishwasher safe”; the FAQ qualifies it to top rack only, away from the hottest water. The recalled mugs failed on heat plus torque at the lid threads. [1] [2]

Sources (5)

  1. Stanley Quencher H2.0 FlowState 40 oz
  2. Stanley FAQ — 18/8 stated as grade 304
  3. Stanley support article — “Do Stanley products contain lead?”
  4. CPSC recall 25-063, Stanley travel mugs, December 2024
  5. Bloomberg Law — Stanley defeats false-ad suits over lead, April 2026
72 out of 100 materials score

Mostly inert

Touches food53/60
The rest13/25
Backed up6/15

Owala FreeSip 24 oz

Triple-layer vacuum stainless, grade not published · Eastman Tritan plastic parts · straw and gasket not named

Read the caveats

The most confident lead claim in this category and the least evidence behind it: “Owala Bottles Are Lead Free. Always Have Been. Always Will Be.”

No laboratory, no test method, no detection limit. Owala’s own blog frames it as “a conscious manufacturing choice based on their values” — which is a sourcing decision, not a measurement.

They claim
"Owala Bottles Are Lead Free"; "BPA- and phthalate-free"
Made in
UNVERIFIED — not published
Warranty
Limited lifetime — excludes accidental damage, misuse and normal wear
Heat
Lids top-rack dishwasher; hand-wash recommended; no microwave, freezing or boiling; not for hot liquids
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • No steel grade published anywhere. Every other named-steel brand on this page states 18/8 or 304; Owala’s FAQ says only “triple-layer insulated stainless steel”. [2]
  • Credit where it is due: Owala names its plastic supplier and resin by brand — Eastman Tritan — and states it is phthalate-free. Most competitors say “BPA-free plastic” and stop. [1]
  • Compare the lead claim with YETI’s, which publishes a detection limit of 0.002 mg/kg and concedes solder. Owala’s is the stronger sentence and the weaker file. [3]
  • No country of manufacture anywhere on the site — a real gap, given the lead-free claim rests entirely on Owala’s own control of its supply chain. [1] [2] [3]

Sources (3)

  1. Owala FreeSip product page
  2. Owala FAQ — Tritan, care and warranty exclusions
  3. Owala — “Lead free stainless steel water bottles”
$39.99sitewide discount running View on owalalife.com
72 out of 100 materials score

Mostly inert

Touches food53/60
The rest13/25
Backed up6/15

Simple Modern Summit 32 oz

Double-walled stainless, grade not stated on this page · lid and straw “BPA-free plastic”, polymer not named

Read the caveats

Read the qualifier: Simple Modern’s claim is that “our products’ accessible components are made without BPA, regulated phthalates, lead or cadmium”.

“Accessible components” excludes, by construction, the sealed vacuum cavity — the exact place YETI and Stanley both admit lead solder sits. It is carefully drafted, and it is not a statement that the bottle contains no lead.

They claim
"Our products' accessible components are made without BPA, regulated phthalates, lead or cadmium"
Made in
UNVERIFIED — not published
Warranty
Limited lifetime, defects — covers broken lids; excludes dents and scratches
Heat
Bottle hand-wash only; straw lid top-rack dishwasher; not for hot or carbonated liquids
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • The warranty covers broken lids — the opposite of Stanley, which excludes lids, seals and straws by name. That is real, checkable disclosure credit. [1]
  • The steel grade appears on Simple Modern’s Classic Tumbler pages as 18/8, and not on this bottle’s own page. Same brand, two product lines, two levels of disclosure. [1] [2]
  • The collection page carries a “Dishwasher Safe” badge; the product page says the bottle is hand-wash only and only the straw lid is dishwasher safe. [1] [3]
  • Testing is asserted through “independent, properly accredited testing labs” with no laboratory named and no report published. [2]

Sources (3)

  1. Simple Modern Summit 32 oz with straw lid
  2. Simple Modern Classic Tumbler — where 18/8 is stated
  3. Simple Modern Summit collection page — the dishwasher badge
$29.99straw lid View on simplemodern.com
68 out of 100 materials score

Mostly inert

Touches food60/60
The rest8/25
Backed up0/15

Ozark Trail 40oz Insulated Stainless Bottle

18/8 stainless steel · powder-coat finish, composition not stated · lid plastic not named

Buy it

The best-disclosed food-contact surface in the whole Walmart house-brand range: “double-wall, vacuum-sealed 18/8 stainless steel”, named by grade, on a fifteen-dollar bottle.

And still the lid — the part your mouth touches — is unnamed, as is the gasket and the powder coat.

They claim
"BPA-free"
Made in
UNVERIFIED — not published
Warranty
UNVERIFIED — not published
Heat
Top-rack dishwasher safe
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • “Screw-top lid” with a “chug spout” and a “soft rubberized grip pad”. Three polymer components, three blanks. [1]
  • The page does not state whether the steel interior has any liner or coating. On insulated bottles at this price that is worth asking. [1]
  • “BPA-free” is the only chemical claim, and it is not attached to any named polymer, so it cannot be checked for BPS or BPF substitution. [1]
  • “Safely designed for top-rack dishwasher cleaning”. No warranty, no country of manufacture, no testing — consistent across all 21 Walmart house-brand products we checked. [1]

Sources (1)

  1. Walmart — Ozark Trail 40 fl oz Insulated Stainless Steel Water Bottle
$14.97twist cap with loop handle View on walmart.com
68 out of 100 materials score

Mostly inert

Touches food60/60
The rest8/25
Backed up0/15

Ozark Trail 32oz Insulated Flip-Straw Bottle

18/8 stainless steel · flip-up straw and lid, polymers not named · powder-coated exterior

Buy it

18/8 stainless named by grade, which is the right answer for the vessel. The sharpest case in this whole table for what gets left out.

A flip-up straw is the single most intimate food-contact part of any drink bottle. It goes in your mouth, every time. Its polymer is never named.

They claim
"BPA-free water bottle"
Made in
UNVERIFIED — not published
Warranty
UNVERIFIED — not published
Heat
Top-rack dishwasher safe
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • “Spill-proof lid” and the straw are both unnamed plastics in direct mouth and liquid contact. [1]
  • “Powder-coated, sweat-free exterior” — composition not published. [1]
  • “Keeps cold 34 hours or hot for up to 6 hours” with no test method cited. [1]
  • “BPA-free water bottle” is the chemical claim, made without naming any resin. [1]

Sources (1)

  1. Walmart — Ozark Trail 32 fl oz Insulated Flip-Straw Water Bottle
$13.73wide mouth, loop handle View on walmart.com
67 out of 100 materials score

Mostly inert

Touches food53/60
The rest8/25
Backed up6/15

Purist Mover 18 oz

316 surgical-grade stainless · amorphous silicon dioxide interior lining · tops “BPA-free plastic”, not named

Read the caveats

The only 316 steel on this page — every other steel bottle here is 304 — lined with “an ultra-thin layer of amorphous silicon dioxide”, which is glass, named as such.

Its lead-free claim is also the only one aimed at the right place: Purist extends it explicitly to the vacuum-sealed components, which is precisely where YETI and Stanley concede solder sits.

They claim
"BPA-free"; "Lead-free", stated to include the vacuum-sealed components
Made in
UNVERIFIED — not published
Warranty
Two years, defects — photographic evidence required
Heat
Not dishwasher safe; no microwave, oven or freezer; nothing hotter than 185°F / 85°C
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • Two years is by far the shortest warranty of any premium bottle here, on the most expensive-per-ounce product on the page, and it requires photographic evidence to claim. [2]
  • Not dishwasher safe, and a published ceiling of 185°F / 85°C — the only numeric beverage temperature limit any bottle brand here publishes. Credit the specificity; the silicon dioxide lining is what imposes it. [1] [2]
  • The tops are “BPA-free plastic” and the gasket is not named at all, on the parts you drink through. [1] [2]
  • No country of manufacture on the product page or the FAQ. [1] [2]

Sources (2)

  1. Purist Mover 18 oz product page
  2. Purist FAQ — amorphous silicon dioxide, lead-free incl. vacuum seal, warranty terms
$52lid price varies View on puristcollective.com
66 out of 100 materials score

Mostly inert

Touches food47/60
The rest8/25
Backed up11/15

Brita Premium Filtering Bottle 32 oz

Double-wall stainless, grade not published · activated carbon filter · lid, straw and filter housing not named

Read the caveats

The filtration claim is far narrower than the product implies. Brita’s certified claim is to reduce “chlorine (taste and odor) and particulates” — no lead, no PFAS, no heavy metals.

It is also the only bottle here with a consumable in the water path, and the carbon source, the housing plastic and any binder all go unstated.

They claim
"made without BPA"
Made in
UNVERIFIED — not published
Warranty
UNVERIFIED — not published
Heat
Hand wash only; never dishwasher
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • The page’s own metadata references “NSF/ANSI certified” while the body of the page certifies only to WQA and names no NSF/ANSI standard number. Two elements of one page disagree about the certification. [1] [2]
  • Explicitly not dishwasher safe — “Never use abrasive detergents or a dishwasher” — on a $39.99 bottle in a category where dishwasher safety is standard. [1]
  • Steel grade, country of manufacture and warranty are all absent from the manufacturer’s pages. [1] [2]
  • If microplastics are the reason you are buying this, read what NSF 401 actually certifies first — this bottle is not certified to it. [2]

Sources (2)

  1. Brita Premium Filtering Water Bottle, stainless steel 32 oz
  2. Brita — second URL for the same product, carrying the WQA wording
$39.99stainless steel View on brita.com
61 out of 100 materials score

Mostly inert

Touches food53/60
The rest8/25
Backed up0/15

Hydro Flask Kids 12 oz Bottle

Stainless steel, grade not stated · double-wall vacuum · plastic cap, type not stated

Fine

Makes no “free of” claims at all on its kids pages, which is unusual and means it cannot overclaim.

Publishes a statutory California AB 1200 materials disclosure — an actual legal filing rather than marketing. Lead does not appear on it.

They claim
None made on the kids pages
Made in
UNVERIFIED
Warranty
Hydro Flask Promise, limited
Heat
Dishwasher safe
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • The AB 1200 disclosure is the manufacturer’s own filing against a designated chemical list, not third-party testing, which is why it counts as a declaration rather than a test. It is also not component-level — every product in a category gets an identical entry. [2]
  • Hydro Flask says it moved away from the industry-standard leaded sealing dot in 2012. Tamara Rubin’s XRF testing describes pre-2018 Hydro Flasks as having leaded dots, while naming post-2018 Hydro Flask as consistently lead-free. Both accounts cannot be exactly right, and we found no reconciliation — but on the current product they agree. [3] [4]
  • Stainless grade, cap plastic, boot material and country of manufacture are all unstated. [1]
  • Not for hot liquids, not for the freezer, ages 3+. [1]

Sources (4)

  1. Hydro Flask Kids 12 oz Bottle
  2. Hydro Flask required materials disclosure (California AB 1200)
  3. Hydro Flask FAQ on lead and bottle sealing
  4. Tamara Rubin, water bottle testing and recommendations
$22.49from $29.95 View on hydroflask.com
61 out of 100 materials score

Mostly inert

Touches food53/60
The rest8/25
Backed up0/15

Ello Syndicate 20 oz Glass

Glass, type not stated · FDA food-grade silicone sleeve · lid and gasket materials not published

They won't say

A glass bottle that will not say what the glass is. Compare bkr on this same page, which names soda-lime and explains what follows from it.

The disclosure effort is also inverted: the silicone sleeve, which never touches the drink, gets an “FDA food-grade” callout, while the lid you put in your mouth has no named material at all.

They claim
"All parts BPA free"
Made in
UNVERIFIED — not published
Warranty
Limited lifetime, defects — US and Canada original purchasers only
Heat
All parts top-rack dishwasher; do not microwave; not for hot or carbonated drinks
What we’d want you to know (3)
  • No lead claim of any kind. Reasonable on an unvacuumed glass bottle with no solder — but every other brand here makes one, so its absence is a data point rather than a neutral. [1]
  • Credit: “Not designed for use with hot or carbonated beverages” sits on the product page itself rather than in a care PDF. Given the glass type is undeclared, that is the right place for it. [1]
  • The limited lifetime warranty is restricted to original purchasers in the US and Canada, and its full terms are referenced rather than published. [1]

Sources (1)

  1. Ello Syndicate 20 oz Glass Water Bottle
61 out of 100 materials score

Mostly inert

Touches food53/60
The rest8/25
Backed up0/15

Ozark Trail 1.1-Liter Insulated Stainless Bottle

“BPA-free stainless steel” — grade not stated, and steel cannot contain BPA

Fine

The phrase on this listing is “BPA-free stainless steel”, and it is a textbook misdirection. BPA is a polycarbonate and epoxy monomer. Steel cannot contain it and never could.

So the claim is attached to the one component where it could never apply, while the lid — which doubles as a drinking cup and plausibly could — is unnamed.

They claim
"BPA-free stainless steel"
Made in
UNVERIFIED — not published
Warranty
UNVERIFIED — not published
Heat
Not published
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • Its own siblings at the same price say “18/8”. This one says only “stainless steel”. The grade disclosure is inconsistent within one range at one retailer. [1] [2]
  • The screw-top lid “doubles as a portable drinking cup”, so it is explicitly a drinking vessel, and its material is not published. [1]
  • “Silver” exterior finish — type not published. [1]
  • No dishwasher guidance, no warranty, no country of manufacture, no testing. [1]

Sources (2)

  1. Walmart — Ozark Trail 1.1-Liter Insulated Stainless Steel Bottle
  2. Walmart — Ozark Trail 40 fl oz, which does state 18/8
$14.97lid doubles as a drinking cup View on walmart.com
61 out of 100 materials score

Mostly inert

Touches food53/60
The rest8/25
Backed up0/15

Owala SmoothSip Slider 20oz 2-Pack (Costco)

Stainless steel, grade not stated · “SmoothSip Spout” and slider lid, polymers not named

Fine

Insulated stainless cup with no grade published, and a patented spout whose plastic is not named.

The spout is the entire product differentiator. It is also the part the drink passes through and the part your mouth meets, and Owala does not say what it is.

They claim
"BPA Free"
Made in
China (stated)
Warranty
UNVERIFIED — not published
Heat
Dishwasher-safe lid; hand-wash cup
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • “Leakproof when slider is locked” implies a gasket. Its material is not published. [1]
  • “BPA Free” is claimed without naming the resin, so it cannot be checked for BPS or BPF substitution. [1]
  • The bullets say “Dishwasher-Safe Lid and Hand-Washable Cup”; the spec field flatly says “Cleaning: Hand Wash”. A shopper reading only the spec table would hand-wash a dishwasher-safe lid. [1]
  • Made in China, stated. No warranty published. Costco’s bottle listings name the body as stainless and say nothing about the spout, lid or gasket — the Contigo Autoseal 2-pack on the same site makes no BPA claim at all despite a plastic lid. [2]

Sources (2)

  1. Costco — Owala SmoothSip Slider 20oz 2-Pack
  2. Costco — Contigo Autoseal Couture 20oz 2-Pack
Member priceCostco does not display prices to non-members View on costco.com
61 out of 100 materials score

Mostly inert

Touches food53/60
The rest8/25
Backed up0/15

Contigo Autoseal Couture 20oz 2-Pack (Costco)

Stainless steel, grade not stated · lid, seal and Autoseal mechanism all unnamed

Fine

Every plastic component that touches the drink is unnamed. The spec table says “Material: Stainless Steel” and that covers the body only.

On a spout bottle, the lid is the food-contact part. It is the thing the water runs through on its way out.

They claim
No BPA or PFAS claim of any kind
Made in
China (stated)
Warranty
UNVERIFIED — not published
Heat
Top-rack dishwasher-safe lid; hand wash body
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • No BPA claim at all, on a plastic-lidded drink bottle. Its Costco shelf-mate Owala does make one. Neither names a resin. [1] [2]
  • “Spill & leak-proof AUTOSEAL technology” is the headline feature and the seal material is not published. [1]
  • Steel grade not published — no 18/8, no 304. [1]
  • Made in China, stated. “Top rack dishwasher-safe lid, hand wash body”. No warranty published. [1]

Sources (2)

  1. Costco — Contigo Autoseal Couture 20oz 2-Pack
  2. Costco — Owala SmoothSip Slider 20oz 2-Pack
Member priceCostco does not display prices to non-members View on costco.com
53 out of 100 materials score

Coated, or plastic in contact

Touches food53/60
The rest0/25
Backed up0/15

Takeya Actives 18 oz

“Double stainless steel insulation” — no grade, no lid polymer, no gasket, no spout material

They won't say

A mainstream insulated steel bottle with no steel grade, no lid polymer, no gasket material and no “free of” claim of any kind on its product page.

For a site that scores what things are made from, this is close to a null return — and it is not a cheap bottle.

They claim
None made
Made in
UNVERIFIED — not published
Warranty
Lifetime — excludes dents, scratches and colour fade
Heat
Stated dishwasher safe; no temperature guidance published
What we’d want you to know (3)
  • Takeya’s FAQ contains exactly the right questions — “WHAT IS MY TAKEYA STAINLESS STEEL BOTTLE MADE OF?” and “WHERE ARE TAKEYA STAINLESS STEEL BOTTLES MADE?” — and serves the answers dynamically. We could not retrieve them. We are recording this as our retrieval limit, not as Takeya’s silence, and we will revise if they publish. [2]
  • The product page says “DISHWASHER SAFE”. Takeya’s own FAQ carries the question “MY BOTTLE SAYS HAND WASH ONLY ON THE BOTTOM. IS IT DISHWASHER SAFE?” — so the physical bottle is marked hand-wash while the website markets it otherwise. [1] [2]
  • No heat guidance and no temperature limit, on a bottle marketed as keeping drinks hot for 12 hours. [1]

Sources (2)

  1. Takeya Actives Insulated Water Bottle
  2. Takeya FAQ — question headings including the hand-wash contradiction
$28.99spout lid View on takeyausa.com
53 out of 100 materials score

Coated, or plastic in contact

Touches food53/60
The rest0/25
Backed up0/15

Iron Flask 40 oz Wide Mouth

“Premium stainless steel” — grade, lid, straw, gasket and powder coat all unnamed

They won't say

The product page sells a “lifetime warranty”. The warranty page excludes “leaking after more than a year of usage” as wear and tear — and leakage is one of only three defects the warranty covers.

A leak at month thirteen is simultaneously a covered defect and an excluded one, depending which of the company’s own pages you read. That is the clearest internal contradiction we found in this category.

They claim
None made
Made in
UNVERIFIED — not published
Warranty
“Lifetime” on the product page; the warranty page excludes leaking after one year
Heat
UNVERIFIED — not published
What we’d want you to know (3)
  • No “free of” claim at all, and no steel grade, on a brand whose competitors all make one and whose copy leans hard on the word “premium”. [1] [3]
  • No care or heat guidance published on the product page, for a bottle marketed as holding liquids “up to 12 hours piping hot”. [1]
  • Credit where due: the warranty page is unusually specific about which three defects are covered — leakage, insulation flaws and rattling noise — and requires no registration. It is more concrete than most lifetime boilerplate, even while it contradicts the marketing. [2]

Sources (3)

  1. Iron Flask 40 oz Wide Mouth with straw lid
  2. Iron Flask warranty — covered defects and the one-year leak exclusion
  3. Iron Flask water bottles collection
$34.99straw lid View on ironflask.com
53 out of 100 materials score

Coated, or plastic in contact

Touches food53/60
The rest0/25
Backed up0/15

Hydro Flask 32 oz Wide Mouth

“Stainless steel” and “TempShield® double-wall vacuum insulation” — no grade, no lid polymer, no gasket, no coating chemistry

They won't say

The best-known bottle in America publishes less about its materials than MiiR does at two-thirds the price.

No steel grade. No lid resin. No gasket. No powder-coat chemistry. No country of manufacture. We looked for an 18/8 statement anywhere on hydroflask.com and could not find one.

They claim
None made
Made in
UNVERIFIED — not published
Warranty
Limited lifetime against defects — excludes misuse, cleaning damage, wear and colour finish damage
Heat
Dishwasher safe; no temperature, freezer or microwave guidance published
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • The warranty excludes the headline feature. The bottle is sold on its colour, and the terms exclude “color finish damage” — while separately excluding “damage from cleaning” on a product the same page calls dishwasher safe. [2]
  • No “free of” claim at all. That is arguably more honest than a BPA-free badge on steel — and it leaves the lid plastic entirely unidentified. [1]
  • The US help-centre and FAQ warranty pages are JavaScript-rendered and returned metadata only. The terms above come from Hydro Flask’s own Australian site. We are flagging that rather than presenting it as the US text. [2] [3]
  • No temperature, freezer or microwave guidance of any kind on the product page. [1]

Sources (3)

  1. Hydro Flask 32 oz Wide Mouth
  2. Hydro Flask warranty terms (their Australian site — the US pages returned no body text)
  3. Hydro Flask US help centre warranty article — returned metadata only
$44.95Flex Cap View on hydroflask.com
39 out of 100 materials score

Coated, plastic, or unnamed

Touches food22/60
The rest17/25
Backed up0/15

CamelBak Eddy+ Kids 14 oz

80% Tritan, 10% PP copolymer, 5% LDPE, 5% silicone — published as a percentage breakdown

Read the caveats

The best raw material disclosure of any bottle here: an actual numeric composition breakdown by weight. Nobody else publishes one.

It is still a plastic bottle, which is what the score is about — but a plastic bottle that tells you exactly which plastics, which is more than most steel brands manage.

They claim
None made
Made in
UNVERIFIED — not published
Warranty
“Got Your Bak” lifetime — of the materials, not the owner; replacement only, no refunds
Heat
Cap and bottle dishwasher safe; no heat limit published
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • No “free of” claim of any kind on a children’s product, while the same page surfaces a California Prop 65 resident warning reference. That combination is the most interesting gap we found in this category. [1]
  • The percentages are published but not mapped to parts, so you know the bottle is 5% LDPE without knowing which piece it is. [1]
  • “Lifetime” is defined honestly as the life of “the components, fabrics and materials” — not the owner’s lifetime — and the remedy is replacement only, never a refund. [2]
  • No heat guidance whatsoever on a bite-valve kids’ bottle sold as dishwasher safe. [1]

Sources (2)

  1. CamelBak Eddy+ Kids 14 oz with Tritan Renew
  2. CamelBak “Got Your Bak” warranty terms
$12.99reduced from $16 View on camelbak.com
36 out of 100 materials score

Coated, plastic, or unnamed

Touches food22/60
The rest8/25
Backed up6/15

Nalgene 32 oz Wide Mouth Sustain

Tritan Renew — “material derived from 50% waste plastic (using ISCC certified mass balance)” · cap and gasket not named

Read the caveats

The only US-made bottle on this page, and the cheapest. Both of those are stated plainly on the product page rather than buried.

It is also a plastic bottle whose cap — the part your mouth is on — has no published material at all.

They claim
"BPA/BPS-free"
Made in
USA (stated)
Warranty
“Lifetime Guarantee” — no terms, exclusions or claim process published
Heat
Dishwasher safe; no temperature ceiling published
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • “50% waste plastic (using ISCC certified mass balance)” needs a footnote Nalgene does not provide. Mass balance is an accounting method: it does not mean half the molecules in this bottle came from waste. The scheme is named on the product page and explained nowhere on the site. [1] [3]
  • A “Lifetime Guarantee” consisting of one sentence, with no exclusions document, no duration mechanics and no claim process published. [2]
  • No phthalate claim and no cap material, on the component in constant contact with the drinker’s mouth. [1] [3]
  • No maximum temperature, no microwave guidance and no hot-liquid limit published — only “dishwasher-safe”. [1]

Sources (3)

  1. Nalgene 32 oz Wide Mouth Sustain
  2. Nalgene “Our Promise” — lifetime guarantee wording and US manufacturing
  3. Nalgene Tritan Renew category page
33 out of 100 materials score

Coated, plastic, or unnamed

Touches food14/60
The rest13/25
Backed up6/15

Zojirushi 35 oz Stainless Bottle

18/8 stainless with a double-layer PTFE nonstick coated interior — the chemistry named only on Zojirushi’s design blog, not on the product page

Read the caveats

A $64.99 bottle whose drink-contact surface is a two-layer fluoropolymer coating. The product page says “nonstick coated interior”; you have to find a blog post to learn it is PTFE.

Zojirushi’s own blog says it plainly: the coating is “made using PTFE, or polytetrafluoroethylene… applied in a two-step process with a primer and a topcoat”.

They claim
"BPA-free plastic"; "PFOA free" (stated on the blog only)
Made in
Thailand (stated)
Warranty
Five years, covering the thermal insulation only
Heat
Wide opening, “can be completely washed”; no dishwasher, microwave, freezer or temperature guidance published
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • The brand’s reputation works against the buyer here. Zojirushi is known for bare electropolished SlickSteel®, and the same blog quietly confirms that “newer models like SM-TA, SJ-JS” moved to a nonstick coating. Same maker, two opposite material stories, and the product page does not flag which you are getting. [2]
  • PFOA-free is claimed on the blog and not on the product page, and there is no PFAS claim at all. PFOA-free on a PTFE coating is the classic narrow hedge. [2]
  • The page carries a California Prop 65 “CANCER AND REPRODUCTIVE HARM” warning alongside the BPA-free claim. Note their bare-steel SV-GWE50 carries the same warning, so the warning alone does not distinguish the coated model. [1] [3]
  • The five-year warranty covers only the thermal insulation. The coating, the lid and the gasket all sit outside it. [1]

Sources (3)

  1. Zojirushi SJ-JS10 35 oz stainless bottle
  2. Zojirushi blog — SlickSteel vs PTFE nonstick, and which models are which
  3. Zojirushi SV-GWE50 — the bare SlickSteel comparator, same Prop 65 warning
30 out of 100 materials score

Coated, plastic, or unnamed

Touches food16/60
The rest8/25
Backed up6/15

Contigo Kids Straw Bottle 14 oz

“BPA-free plastic” body and lid, resin never named · straw and valve materials not published

They won't say

Recalled twice. In August 2019 the CPSC recalled about 5.7 million of these in the US because “the water bottle’s clear silicone spout can detach, posing a choking hazard to children”.

There were 149 reports of spout detachment, including 18 where the spout was found in a child’s mouth. In 2020 the recall was re-announced because the replacement lids failed too.

They claim
"BPA-free plastic lid and body"; "made with FDA-approved, BPA-free materials"
Made in
UNVERIFIED on Contigo's site — CPSC recall notice lists China
Warranty
“Lifetime guarantee” referenced; terms not on the page
Heat
Top-rack dishwasher; no heat, microwave or hot-liquid guidance published
What we’d want you to know (3)
  • A remedy that itself had to be recalled is a rare and serious signal. The 2020 notice cites “additional incidents with replacement lids provided in previous recall”. [3] [4]
  • The recalled part was the silicone spout — and Contigo still does not name the straw or spout material on the current kids’ product page. [1] [2]
  • Brand-level hedging: the materials FAQ says “many” plastic bottles are Tritan, without saying which. From Contigo’s own pages you cannot determine what resin this children’s bottle is. [2]

Sources (4)

  1. Contigo Kids Straw Water Bottle with AUTOSPOUT lid, 14 oz
  2. Contigo Materials & Construction FAQ
  3. CPSC — Contigo recalls 5.7 million kids' water bottles, August 2019
  4. CPSC — Contigo re-announces recall after replacement lids also failed, 2020
$16.99listed out of stock View on gocontigo.com

The sealing dot, explained properly

If you have seen alarming posts about lead in stainless water bottles, this is what they are about — and it is worth getting right, because it is usually told badly in both directions.

A vacuum-insulated bottle has two walls with the air drawn out between them. The air is evacuated through a small hole in the base, which then has to be sealed. The industry-standard seal has historically been a solder dot containing lead. It sits on the outside of the bottle’s base, under a cap.

What this does and does not mean

The independent tester who publicised the issue is explicit about the exposure route: “the water or other liquid inside the bottles is NOT exposed to the Lead sealing dot on the outside”. The concern is exposure if the covering cap is damaged or worn through — not ordinary drinking.

And the testing behind these reports is XRF, which measures how much of an element is present in the material scanned. It does not measure how much gets into your drink. That is a real limitation, and it cuts both ways: it does not make the readings meaningless, and it does not make them evidence of exposure.

Where the brands stand

Hydro Flask says it moved away from the industry-standard sealing process in 2012. Rubin’s testing describes pre-2018 Hydro Flasks as having leaded dots while naming post-2018 ones as consistently lead-free. Both accounts cannot be exactly right, and we found no reconciliation — but on the current product they agree.

Klean Kanteen says all its products are lead-free and that its insulated line uses silica or glass plugs rather than solder. Rubin disputes this for the insulated bottles and recommends only the non-insulated ones. We found no company response to her specifically.

The easy way out

A single-wall bottle has no vacuum seal, so it has no sealing dot, so the entire argument does not apply to it. It will not keep drinks cold, which for a school water bottle usually matters less than people expect.

The other thing worth checking, and rarely mentioned: whether the steel has an interior lining. Some bottles are lined with plastic or epoxy inside the steel. The ones we rate here are not.

Our position

We are not telling you insulated bottles are dangerous — the evidence does not support that. We are saying that if the question bothers you, single wall removes it for about ten dollars, and that is a cheaper answer than worrying.

Keep reading

All 136 products in one table  ·  Which brands publish anything at all  ·  All guides

Related pages

One useful email a fortnight

New scores, brands that finally answered, and any rule change that affects what you can buy. The list isn’t open yet — email us and we’ll add you when it is.