MessyPig

22 checked · last checked 1 September 2026

Stainless steel lunch boxes, rated on what they’re made of

Scored on what they are made of. The steel grade is the thing to check, and several of the best-known brands won’t commit to one.

An open stainless steel bento box with a stainless lid beside it, holding a sandwich, raspberries and blueberries, cucumber and carrot sticks and cherry tomatoes
Cookware (38)Lunchboxes (22)Food storage (24)Bottles (26)Air fryers (26)

The short version

  • Stainless takes the question off the table. No coating, no plasticiser, no secret recipe.
  • Check the grade, not the marketing. 304 (“18/8”) is the food-contact standard; 430 (“18/0”) has no nickel but corrodes more easily; 201 swaps nickel for manganese to cut cost.
  • The lid is where sets cheat. Ask whether it’s the same metal as the tray.
  • One brand here won’t commit to a grade at all — its own FAQ says “201 or 304”, so you can’t know which arrived.
  • Almost none of these are leak-proof. Pack dry.
Why, in full ↓

The 22 we’ve checked

We score what it’s made of, so you don’t have to read the small print

Every score below is out of 100 for the materials — mostly what actually touches your food (60 points), then the lids, seals and handles (25), and whether the maker can back the materials claim up (15).

80–100 bare, inert materials 60–79 mostly inert 40–59 coated, or plastic in contact 0–39 coated, plastic, or unnamed

Bare stainless, cast iron and glass score highest because there is nothing applied to them that can come off. Coatings score lower the less the maker will say about them, and a product whose materials are never named cannot score at all — you can’t call something inert if nobody will tell you what it is.

This is not a safety rating. We run no laboratory. A low score means the food meets a coating or a plastic, or that nobody will say what it meets — which is worth knowing, and is not the same as something being wrong with it. How we score, in full

Ranked by score. Nothing here is a paid link — we are not in any affiliate programme.

87 out of 100 materials score

Bare, inert materials

Touches food60/60
The rest21/25
Backed up6/15
Best material here

PlanetBox Rover

18/8 (304) stainless tray · 18/0 (430) stainless lid · LFGB silicone · synthetic rubber magnets

Best material

Names both steel grades — including the less flattering one. The lid is 18/0, not 18/8, and they say so and explain why: the 400 series holds magnets better.

Their FAQ states the products are tested by CPSC-accepted third-party laboratories against FDA, CPSC and CPSIA rules, that the silicone is LFGB grade, and that the steel is made by partners in China.

They claim
"free from lead, PVC, phthalates or BPA material"
Made in
China (stated in FAQ)
Warranty
5 years steel, 1 year soft goods
Heat
Dishwasher safe
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • The country, the testing and the steel grades are all on PlanetBox’s FAQ page rather than the product page. Both are linked below. [2]
  • PlanetBox does not name the individual laboratories, and the “certified” recycled-content claims do not name a certifier. [2]
  • Not leak-proof by design — there are no gaskets. Nothing runny. [1]
  • Remove the magnets before washing; PlanetBox says they are not designed to get wet. [1]

Sources (2)

  1. PlanetBox Rover product page
  2. PlanetBox FAQ — steel grades, testing, country of manufacture
$43.96on sale from $54.95 View on planetbox.com
87 out of 100 materials score

Bare, inert materials

Touches food60/60
The rest21/25
Backed up6/15

PlanetBox Launch

Tray “51% post-consumer recycled 18/8 (304) stainless steel” · lid “18/0 (430) stainless steel” · dipper top silicone, stated “LFGB Approved”

Buy it

One of the very few makers anywhere on this site that names the standard its silicone meets rather than calling it “food grade”. LFGB is a real specification; “food grade” is not issued by anybody.

It also tells you the lid is a different steel from the tray, and why: 18/0 has lower nickel, which holds the magnets. Most brands would simply say “stainless” and hope you did not ask.

They claim
"fully compliant with FDA, CPSC, and CPSIA regulations"; bags "independently certified to be safe from lead, phthalates, BPA"
Made in
China (stated)
Warranty
Five years on steel, one year on soft goods — voided by resale or transfer
Heat
Dishwasher safe; remove magnets before washing; microwave and oven guidance not published for this model
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • There is a genuine error in the published spec: the dipper bowl is listed as “18/8 (204) stainless steel”. 18/8 is 304. 204 is a 200-series manganese-substituted alloy with different nickel content and corrosion behaviour. PlanetBox’s own FAQ says they use only “18/8 and 18/0”, so one of the two numbers is wrong. [1] [2]
  • The lid that sits against food is 430 / 18-0, chosen for magnet grip rather than corrosion resistance. Credit for disclosing it plainly; worth knowing the lid and the tray are not the same steel. [1] [2]
  • Sold as an heirloom and warranted for five years on the steel, one on the bag — and coverage “terminates if you sell or otherwise transfer the Product”. Unusual on something bought for a six-year-old and handed down. [3]
  • Manufacture stated plainly as China, by “long-standing partners”. [2]

Sources (3)

  1. PlanetBox Launch stainless steel lunch box set
  2. PlanetBox FAQ — 18/8 and 18/0, the 400-series lid reasoning, LFGB, China
  3. PlanetBox warranty and return policy — the transfer clause
$59.953 compartments, 6.5 cups View on planetbox.com
85 out of 100 materials score

Bare, inert materials

Touches food60/60
The rest25/25
Backed up0/15

Elephant Box 2L Stainless

“Premium 304 grade stainless steel” · “100% stainless steel with no additional materials” · no plastic, no gasket

Buy it

The high-water mark for this category, and useful mainly as something to measure the rest against: 304 named as a grade, 100% steel, no plastic anywhere, a stated oven limit and a fifteen-year warranty.

It is also made “in a small family factory” in India, which is the most specific origin statement we found in any category — country and factory type, not just a nation.

They claim
"BPA free"; "no plastic in this lunchbox"
Made in
India — “responsibly made in a small family factory” (stated)
Warranty
15 years — the longest in this category; exclusions not published
Heat
Dishwasher and freezer safe; oven to 200°C; not for the microwave
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • “BPA free” on a box with no polymer in it is a non-claim. There is nothing in this product for BPA to be in. Its presence suggests the phrase is on the page for reassurance rather than information — the same empty sentence Thermos and Hydro Flask put on steel. [1]
  • Explicitly not leakproof, and it says so on the product page. Full marks for saying it; it rules the box out for anything wet, which is most of what parents want a compartment box for. [1]
  • The only lunch box in this category with a published oven temperature — usable in the oven up to 200°C. Nobody else gives a number. [1]
  • Priced in GBP with UK-focused shipping. A US buyer’s landed cost cannot be determined from the maker’s site, which is why it sits here as a benchmark rather than a recommendation. [1] [2]

Sources (2)

  1. Elephant Box 2L product page
  2. Elephant Box classic lunchboxes collection
£32.50UK site; no USD price published View on elephantbox.co.uk
85 out of 100 materials score

Bare, inert materials

Touches food60/60
The rest25/25
Backed up0/15

LunchBots Small Snack Packer

“100% stainless steel interior, including the lid. No plastic touches your food.” · “18/8 food-grade stainless steel” · no gasket

Buy it

All steel, lid included, and it makes no “free of” claims at all — which on an all-steel product is the correct and more credible position.

Compare the brands on this page that stamp “BPA free” on metal. Saying nothing, when there is nothing to say, is a form of accuracy.

They claim
None made
Made in
UNVERIFIED — not published
Warranty
UNVERIFIED — not published
Heat
Dishwasher safe; microwave and freezer not addressed; no temperature limit published
What we’d want you to know (3)
  • “18/8” is an alloy family, not a grade — 304, 302 and 305 all satisfy it, with different corrosion behaviour. OmieBox and Elephant Box on this page both name the actual grade. [1]
  • Explicitly not leakproof: “we recommend packing dry foods only”, stated on the product page. Good disclosure, hard constraint. [1]
  • Neither a warranty nor a country of manufacture is published. The terms of service carry only a blanket disclaimer that the service is provided “as is… without any representation, warranties or conditions of any kind”. [2]

Sources (2)

  1. LunchBots Small Snack Packer product page
  2. LunchBots terms of service — the blanket warranty disclaimer
$21.99listed sold out View on lunchbots.com
81 out of 100 materials score

Bare, inert materials

Touches food60/60
The rest21/25
Backed up0/15

Black+Blum Stainless Lunch Box Large

“Stainless steel (304/18-8), including a silicone strap, a stainless steel fork and slider-divider” · silicone lid seal, standard not named

Buy it

304 / 18-8 named properly, declared plastic-free, with a steel fork and divider rather than the plastic ones most brands include.

Black+Blum is unusually specific about materials across its whole range — it names PP, Tritan, POM and borosilicate elsewhere — which makes the two gaps here more conspicuous.

They claim
"Plastic free"; "BPA free"
Made in
UNVERIFIED — only the London design studio is stated
Warranty
Lifetime on the steel; two years on silicone parts; excludes dents, scratches and burn marks
Heat
Base and divider oven safe, lid must not go in the oven; never microwave; freezer safe; base dishwasher, lid and strap by hand
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • A straight contradiction between two of their own pages. This 304/18-8 box: “this product is made of steel and CANNOT be used in the microwave”. Their Meal Prep Box Set, also “stainless steel (304/18-8)”, is sold as an “innovative microwave-safe steel box” rated to 1000W. Same maker, same alloy, opposite instruction. [1] [4]
  • The warranty excludes the headline feature: the box is sold on being “100% leakproof”, and the silicone seal that delivers that is covered for two years rather than the lifetime the steel gets. [3]
  • “BPA free” on an all-steel, explicitly plastic-free product. It was never in question. [1]
  • No silicone standard and no country of manufacture, on a site that is otherwise one of the most material-literate we have read. The About page places only the design studio, in London. [1] [2] [5]

Sources (5)

  1. Black+Blum Stainless Steel Lunch Box Large
  2. Black+Blum — our materials
  3. Black+Blum lifetime guarantee — the two-year silicone carve-out
  4. Black+Blum Meal Prep Box Set — the contradicting microwave claim
  5. Black+Blum about page
$49.951 litre View on blackblum.com
79 out of 100 materials score

Mostly inert

Touches food60/60
The rest13/25
Backed up6/15

LunchBots Large Cinco

18/8 stainless body and lid · optional snap-on cover is plastic, resin not disclosed

Read the caveats

“No plastic touches your food” is accurate — the interior really is all steel, lid included.

Everything else is missing: no country of origin, no testing, and the plastic outer cover’s resin is undisclosed.

They claim
"No plastic touches your food"
Made in
UNVERIFIED
Warranty
Lifetime, defects
Heat
Dishwasher safe, not microwave
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • No third-party testing, certification or Prop 65 statement published that we could find. [1]
  • No country of manufacture stated on the product page, FAQ or warranty page. [1]
  • Not leak-proof. LunchBots’ own advice is to pack dry foods only. [1]
  • Lifetime warranty against manufacturing defects, which is generous for the price. [2]

Sources (2)

  1. LunchBots Large Cinco product page
  2. LunchBots warranty terms
78 out of 100 materials score

Mostly inert

Touches food53/60
The rest25/25
Backed up0/15

ECOlunchbox Three-in-One Giant

Stainless steel, grade not stated for this product · metal clips · no gaskets

Read the caveats

The heaviest “100% plastic-free” positioning of anything we checked, and it does state a country — made in India, on the product page.

But their FAQ says bentos other than the Blue Water Bento line are “food-grade stainless steel 201 or 304”. You cannot tell which one you are buying.

They claim
"Plastic-free and waste-free"; "non-toxic"
Made in
India (stated)
Warranty
UNVERIFIED — none published
Heat
Steel to ~350°F
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • Grade 201 substitutes manganese for nickel and corrodes more readily than 304. Committing to one grade, or labelling it per product, would cost nothing and would raise this score several points. We have asked them which one ships in this product. [2]
  • No warranty published anywhere we could find. [2]
  • No lead or metals testing published. [2]
  • No gaskets, so not leak-proof. Their separate Splash Box is the leak-proof one, and it seals with silicone — worth knowing if “plastic-free” was the whole reason you were buying. [1]

Sources (2)

  1. ECOlunchbox Three-in-One Giant
  2. ECOlunchbox FAQ — the “201 or 304” disclosure
77 out of 100 materials score

Mostly inert

Touches food60/60
The rest17/25
Backed up0/15

Bentgo Kids Stainless Steel

18/8 stainless tray · 18/8 stainless + silicone lid · silicone seal and pot

They won't say

Genuinely all-stainless in the food zone, and the spec block names every part. Most Bentgo models are plastic — this line is not, and the composition disclosure is as good as PlanetBox’s.

Then it asserts “NO PFAS” and no lead, PVC, phthalates or vinyl with nothing published behind any of it.

They claim
"NO PFAS & BPA-FREE"; "made without PVC, phthalates, lead, or vinyl"
Made in
UNVERIFIED
Warranty
5 years
Heat
Top-rack dishwasher
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • No third-party testing, no certification, no Prop 65 statement. [1]
  • No country of manufacture stated on the product page or the FAQ. [1]
  • The second claim — “made without PVC, phthalates, lead, or vinyl” — is on Bentgo’s FAQ rather than the product page. [2]
  • The 5-year warranty is well above Bentgo’s own stated 1–2 year baseline for most lunch products, which is a decent signal about the line. [2]

Sources (2)

  1. Bentgo Kids Stainless Steel Lunch Box
  2. Bentgo FAQ — the wider “free of” claim and warranty baseline
77 out of 100 materials score

Mostly inert

Touches food60/60
The rest17/25
Backed up0/15

OmieBox Hot & Cold Bento

“ABS, PP, food grade silicon, and 18/8 304 grade stainless steel” (FAQ) · product page says only “food grade plastic & silicone”

Buy it

Names both the alloy family and the actual grade — “18/8 304 grade” — which most brands in this category duck entirely.

The insulated thermos means hot food actually works here, and the steel it touches is specified properly.

They claim
"BPA-free and Phthalate-free"; "meets all FDA and CPSIA safety requirements"
Made in
China (stated)
Warranty
One year limited; exclusions not published
Heat
Hand washing recommended; no microwave, oven or stovetop; do not boil the thermos
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • The product page hides the plastics behind “food grade plastic” while the FAQ names ABS and PP. The page a shopper actually reads is the less specific one, and ABS is not a resin most parents expect in a food container. [1] [2]
  • “Food grade silicon” is used as though it were a certification. No agency issues one. Neither LFGB nor FDA 21 CFR 177.2600 appears anywhere on the site — and in fact appears on no lunch box maker’s site we read. [2]
  • Handwashing is “best” but the site never says the box is not dishwasher safe. Ambiguous guidance on a $50 product whose steel thermos and ABS shell have very different tolerances. [1] [2]
  • Credit: country of manufacture stated plainly — “OmieBox is responsibly made in China”. [2]

Sources (2)

  1. OmieBox product page
  2. OmieBox FAQ — the full material list and country of manufacture
$49.95with 8.5 oz thermos View on omielife.com
77 out of 100 materials score

Mostly inert

Touches food60/60
The rest17/25
Backed up0/15

kinsho Mini Steel Bento, 3-compartment

“Japanese grade SUS304 stainless steel tray” · polypropylene outer box · “food grade silicone seals”

Buy it

SUS304 is the Japanese designation for grade 304, so this is a real, specific material statement — better than the “18/8” most of this category offers.

Worth knowing before you buy: the steel is the removable tray. The outer box that gives the product its shape is polypropylene.

They claim
"No BPA, Phthalates, Vinyl, Lead, or PVC"
Made in
UNVERIFIED — not published
Warranty
6 months to 2 years depending on item — excludes dishwasher damage, wear, mould, warping
Heat
Tray dishwasher safe; bottom box stated freezer, dishwasher and microwave safe on one page and hand-wash on another
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • Marketed under “Stainless Steel Bento Boxes” when the outer box is PP. A buyer scanning the category name would not get that. [1] [2]
  • Two of kinsho’s own pages contradict each other on care: the product page says “easily wash the outer box and silicone seals by hand”; the collection page says “bottom box and tray are top shelf dishwasher safe”. The warranty then excludes dishwasher damage to non-dishwasher-safe parts — placing the risk of that ambiguity on the buyer. [1] [2] [3]
  • “Japanese grade” describes the standard, not the country. It reads as an origin cue and is not one; origin is unpublished. [1]
  • The warranty runs from “6 months to 2 years” depending on the item, and you must find which from the printed instructions rather than the website. That is the shortest floor in this category. [3]

Sources (3)

  1. kinsho mini steel bento product page
  2. kinsho stainless steel bento collection — the conflicting care advice
  3. kinsho warranty policy
73 out of 100 materials score

Mostly inert

Touches food60/60
The rest13/25
Backed up0/15

Klean Kanteen 34 oz Rise Food Box

“Certified 90% post-consumer recycled 18/8 stainless steel” · “food-grade silicone” lid with an undisclosed “Klean Coat®” finish · plastic snap-in dividers

Read the caveats

The “free of” claim carries its own refutation inside the brackets: “BPA, BPS, BPF, lead and plastic free (if using without divider)”.

The divider is the component that makes it a bento box rather than a tub. Credit for the honesty of the parenthesis; note what it concedes.

They claim
"BPA, BPS, BPF, lead and plastic free (if using without divider)"
Made in
China — designed in Chico, California (stated)
Warranty
Lifetime limited against manufacturing defects, original purchaser
Heat
Oven to 350°F, reheating only; microwave under 1000W and under 5 minutes; lid not oven or microwave safe; dishwasher and freezer safe
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • “Food-grade silicone” is used as though it were a certification. No agency issues one, and no standard is named — a direct contrast with PlanetBox on this same page, which names LFGB. [1] [2]
  • “Klean Coat®” is an undisclosed powder coating on the lid. The only substantiation offered is that its ingredients were screened with GreenScreen®; the chemistry is never published. [2]
  • Credit, and it is real: the most specific thermal guidance of any lunch box here — oven to 350°F for reheating only, microwave under 1000W, never more than five minutes. Numbers, not adjectives. [1]
  • “BPA, BPS, BPF… free” asserted on a steel-and-silicone vessel where those monomers were never plausible. [1]

Sources (3)

  1. Klean Kanteen 34 oz Rise Food Box
  2. Klean Kanteen FAQ — 18/8 definition, Klean Coat, country of manufacture
  3. Klean Kanteen warranty
$32.95meal size View on kleankanteen.com
71 out of 100 materials score

Mostly inert

Touches food40/60
The rest25/25
Backed up6/15

Stasher Reusable Sandwich Bag

Platinum food-grade silicone throughout, including the Pinch-Loc seal

Read the caveats

The only brand in this category that names its silicone cure chemistry. Platinum-cured against peroxide-cured is a real distinction and it affects residual by-products.

Every other silicone product on this page says “food grade silicone” and stops there.

They claim
"free of lead, latex, BPA, BPS, or other phthalates"
Made in
China (stated); designed in Emeryville, California
Warranty
30-day guarantee; warranty programme referenced but terms not published
Heat
Microwave, freezer, dishwasher and oven safe to 425°F; vent the seal when microwaving
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • “Food-grade… one of the highest quality tiers” is marketing. There is no tiered food-grade silicone scheme, and the claim to be “meeting the EU food safety certification” names no directive or regulation. [2]
  • “Must meet certain standards set by the FDA to be legally sold in the United States” is a statement about the law, not about this product’s testing. It is phrased so that a reader hears “FDA approved”, which no food container is. [2]
  • No warranty terms are published — only a 30-day return window, on a product sold on durability and reuse. [1] [2]
  • Credit: an oven rating of 425°F / 218°C with a stated venting instruction for the microwave. Only Elephant Box also publishes a temperature in this category. [1]

Sources (2)

  1. Stasher Reusable Silicone Sandwich Bag
  2. Stasher materials and FAQ page
$9.79from $13.99 View on stasherbag.com
68 out of 100 materials score

Mostly inert

Touches food60/60
The rest8/25
Backed up0/15

WeeSprout Stainless Bento, Large

“18/8 Stainless Steel” body · “no-slip silicone sleeve”, type unstated · lid material not stated on any page

Read the caveats

The same company names the grade on one product and not on another: the leak-resistant-lid model says “18/8 (304)”, this one says only “18/8”.

Two pages on one site, two levels of disclosure, no reason given for the difference.

They claim
"BPA, PVC, and Phthalate-Free materials"
Made in
UNVERIFIED — not published
Warranty
No warranty — a satisfaction guarantee with no term, plus 30-day returns
Heat
Top-rack dishwasher; no microwave, oven or stovetop; no high heat or open flame
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • The lid — the part with the seal, the latches and the food contact at the top — has no published material on either model. A steel-bodied box with an undisclosed lid is not an all-steel box, and the listings do not let you tell. [1] [2]
  • “Third-party tested to meet rigorous safety standards” names no standard and no laboratory. It is unfalsifiable in the same way “food grade” is. [1]
  • There is no warranty, only a “WeeCare Guarantee — not satisfied? We’ll make it right — every time”, with no duration, no defined coverage and no remedy. [1]
  • Country of manufacture is not published. [1] [2]

Sources (2)

  1. WeeSprout Large stainless bento with silicone sleeve
  2. WeeSprout bento with leak-resistant lid — where 304 is named
$24.98with silicone sleeve View on weesprout.com
68 out of 100 materials score

Mostly inert

Touches food60/60
The rest8/25
Backed up0/15

Hydro Flask 12 oz Kids Food Jar

“18/8 pro-grade stainless steel” · lid plastic, Flex Boot and gasket materials all unstated

Read the caveats

“18/8 pro-grade stainless steel” invents a tier that does not exist. There is no “pro-grade” designation in any steel standard.

Stacked on top of “18/8”, which is a family rather than a grade, the phrase sounds more precise than Elephant Box’s plain “304 grade” while conveying strictly less.

They claim
"BPA-Free"
Made in
UNVERIFIED — not published
Warranty
BLOCKED — the “Hydro Flask Promise” page returned no readable terms
Heat
Dishwasher safe; not for use on a stove, in a microwave or in a freezer
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • “BPA-Free” on a steel jar is the same empty claim Thermos and Elephant Box make. The lid is the only plausibly BPA-relevant part, and Hydro Flask does not say what it is made of. [1]
  • Explicitly not freezer safe — unusual in this category, and worth knowing for anyone who batches and freezes. [1]
  • The warranty page could not be read: help.hydroflask.com returned page metadata with no body content. We are recording that as blocked, not as absent — duration, coverage and exclusions are unverified from the maker. [2]
  • Country of manufacture is not published on the product page. [1]

Sources (2)

  1. Hydro Flask 12 oz Kids Insulated Food Jar
  2. Hydro Flask Promise / warranty page — returned metadata only
$34.95listed out of stock View on hydroflask.com
61 out of 100 materials score

Mostly inert

Touches food53/60
The rest8/25
Backed up0/15

Thermos FUNtainer 10 oz Food Jar

“Stainless steel”, grade never named · lid resin not named · gasket not named, though the care guide tells you to inspect it

Read the caveats

“BPA-free stainless steel” is a claim about the wrong material. BPA is a polycarbonate monomer; steel never contained it.

The claim is attached to the steel rather than to the plastic lid, which is the part where the question is real — and the lid is not described at all.

They claim
"BPA-free stainless steel"
Made in
China (stated)
Warranty
Five years, defects — excludes wear, fading, abuse, neglect and alteration
Heat
Top-rack dishwasher, hand wash recommended; never microwave, stovetop or oven; do not leave contents more than 24 hours
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • No steel grade published anywhere, including in Thermos’s own Care & Use PDF. On a vacuum-insulated jar with an inner steel food surface, that is the single most relevant fact and it is missing. [1] [2]
  • On 30 April 2026 the CPSC announced a recall of about 8.2 million Thermos Stainless King food jars and bottles: if perishable food is stored for an extended period, “the stopper can forcefully eject when opened”. 27 reports; three people sustained permanent vision loss. The FUNtainer is not in that recall — but the mechanism is pressure from food left in a sealed insulated jar, which is exactly what the FUNtainer’s own 24-hour limit addresses. [3]
  • The care guide instructs you to inspect the gasket, a part whose material is never disclosed. [2]
  • Credit: the five-year warranty is one of the longer ones here, and country of manufacture is stated as China. [1] [2]

Sources (3)

  1. Thermos 10 oz FUNtainer Food Jar
  2. Thermos FUNtainer Care & Use guide (PDF)
  3. CPSC — Thermos recalls 8.2 million Stainless King jars and bottles, April 2026
$20.99folding spoon included View on thermos.com
39 out of 100 materials score

Coated, plastic, or unnamed

Touches food22/60
The rest17/25
Backed up0/15

Bentgo Kids Lunch Box (plastic)

Shell and latches ABS · removable tray PP · rubberised overlay TPE — all four named only in the user manual PDF · seal material never stated

Read the caveats

Three of Bentgo’s own pages give three different “free of” lists. The product page claims PFAS-free but omits phthalates; the manual and the FAQ claim phthalate-free and say nothing about PFAS.

A PFAS-free claim that appears in marketing copy and vanishes from the technical document is the reverse of what you would expect, and no test method or standard is cited for it anywhere.

They claim
"free of PFAS, BPA, vinyl, lead, and PVC" (product page); "No BPA, PVC, Phthalates, lead or vinyl" (manual)
Made in
UNVERIFIED — not published
Warranty
2 years per the manual; “1 to 2 years” per the warranty page; voided by unauthorised-seller purchases
Heat
Tray freezer, microwave and top-shelf dishwasher safe; hand-wash the outer shell; no more than 3 minutes in the microwave
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • Credit where due: the user manual names four resins by type — ABS shell, PP tray, ABS latches, TPE overlay. That is more than Yumbox or Simple Modern publish anywhere. You just have to open a PDF to find it. [2]
  • Warranty length contradicts itself: the manual says a flat “2 Years”, the warranty page says “1 to 2 years… on most lunch boxes” and points back to the manuals. A buyer reading the warranty page cannot tell which they have. [2] [3]
  • The seal is never named. On a box whose entire selling proposition is leak-proofing, the one part in permanent contact at the lid is undocumented. [1] [2] [4]
  • Care guidance disagrees with itself: the manual’s feature list says dishwasher, microwave and freezer safe, while the product page and the manual’s own care note say hand-wash the outer shell. The shell is ABS, so the distinction matters. [1] [2]

Sources (4)

  1. Bentgo Kids Lunch Box product page
  2. Bentgo Kids user manual (PDF) — where the resins are named
  3. Bentgo warranty and returns
  4. Bentgo FAQs
$29.995 compartments, 2.4 cups View on bentgo.com
36 out of 100 materials score

Coated, plastic, or unnamed

Touches food22/60
The rest8/25
Backed up6/15

monbento MB Tresor Kids Bento

Polypropylene — named only on the spare-parts page, never on the product page · lid and seal materials unstated

They won't say

The MB Tresor page carries a “Made in France” banner. monbento’s own Made in France page lists only MB Original, MB Square and the Pro range — and does not list MB Tresor.

That is a direct self-contradiction on country of origin, which is the field most likely to drive the purchase.

They claim
"BPA-free*" (*in accordance with regulations); "Food grade"
Made in
UNVERIFIED — the product page says “Made in France”; monbento’s own Made in France page does not list this model
Warranty
“Lifetime guarantee, see conditions”; heating lunch boxes excluded
Heat
Dishwasher upper rack, gentle cycle; hand wash graphic lids; microwave max 3 minutes at 500 W with lids removed
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • The resin is findable only on the spare-parts listing for a replacement container. The main kids’ product page names no material at all, so a shopper must navigate to a spare part to learn what their child’s lunch box is. [1] [2]
  • “BPA-free*” carries an asterisk expanding to “in accordance with regulations” — an assertion of regulatory compliance rather than of absence, and a materially weaker claim than the unqualified version most competitors use. [2]
  • Care instructions live in a blog post rather than on the product page, and they are stricter than the spare-part page implies: hand-wash the graphic lids, and microwave for a maximum of 3 minutes at 500 W. [3] [4]
  • Because of the origin contradiction we are recording country of manufacture as UNVERIFIED rather than repeating either claim. [1] [3]

Sources (4)

  1. monbento MB Tresor kids bento product page
  2. monbento MB Container MB Tresor spare part — where PP is named
  3. monbento Made in France page — which omits MB Tresor
  4. monbento maintenance guide — the stricter care instructions
$34.9027 fl oz, modular View on us.monbento.com
35 out of 100 materials score

Coated, plastic, or unnamed

Touches food16/60
The rest13/25
Backed up6/15

Yumbox Original Leakproof Bento

No resin named on any page — only “high-quality, safety-tested materials” · “silicone-lined seal”, silicone type unstated

They won't say

The warranty voids freezer storage — “improper storage, such as storing in freezer” — and nothing on the product page warns against freezing.

Parents who meal-prep and freeze are unknowingly outside their warranty, and there is no way to learn that except by reading the warranty page.

They claim
"BPA-free, phthalate-free"; "CPSIA and FDA compliant"
Made in
UNVERIFIED — not published
Warranty
One year, original purchaser — excludes wear, silicone seal degradation, and freezer storage
Heat
Tray top-rack dishwasher; hand-wash the outer shell; not microwave safe; freezing voids the warranty
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • Silicone seal wear is excluded from the warranty by name. The seal is the part that makes the box leakproof and the first part to fail, so the headline feature is effectively uncovered. [2]
  • The “free of” list changes between models on the same site: lead-free is asserted for the Tapas and not for the Original, with no explanation of why. [1] [3]
  • Across four Yumbox pages the material language never gets more specific than “BPA-free, phthalate-free”. The steel grade for a different model — 18/8 for the Prêt — is named, so the omission here is a choice. [1] [4]
  • Credit: Yumbox publishes an actual dishwasher test specification, “65C/149F, 110 min. cycle”. That is genuinely more informative than “dishwasher safe”, and nobody else does it. [4]

Sources (4)

  1. Yumbox Original Leakproof Bento product page
  2. Yumbox warranty — the freezer and seal exclusions
  3. Yumbox Tapas — where the lead-free claim appears instead
  4. Yumbox FAQ — the dishwasher test spec and the 18/8 Prêt reference
$336 compartments View on yumboxlunch.com
35 out of 100 materials score

Coated, plastic, or unnamed

Touches food22/60
The rest13/25
Backed up0/15

Mepal Campus Bento Lunchbox

“PP, ABS” — two resins named, but not mapped to parts · seal, lid and fork materials not separately declared

Read the caveats

Names both resins and gives a numeric ceiling — “PP, ABS” and “dishwasher safe (max. 65°C)”. That is better disclosure than most plastic lunch boxes manage.

What it does not do is say which part is which. ABS is a styrene-acrylonitrile copolymer, and a buyer cannot tell from Mepal’s own page whether it is the food-contact tray or only the hinge.

They claim
"All products 100% BPA free"
Made in
Netherlands (stated)
Warranty
UNVERIFIED — not published on any US page we could read
Heat
Dishwasher safe to a maximum of 65°C; not suitable for the microwave; not suitable for the freezer
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • No thermal headroom at all for a children’s product: not microwave safe, not freezer safe, dishwasher capped at 65°C — while other Mepal lines on the same site are microwave-rated to 700W. You cannot reheat in it and you cannot freeze ahead. [1] [4]
  • “All products 100% BPA free” is a blanket site-wide banner with no per-product substantiation, no BPS statement and no phthalate statement. [1]
  • No warranty is published on the US product pages, the US category page or the FAQ index. [4] [5]
  • No USD price is rendered anywhere in the HTML of the US product or category pages. Made in the Netherlands, which is stated plainly. [1] [4]

Sources (5)

  1. Mepal Campus bento lunchbox, blue
  2. Mepal Campus, licensed variant — same spec
  3. Mepal Campus, pink — confirms PP/ABS and 65°C across variants
  4. Mepal US lunch boxes category — no prices, no warranty
  5. Mepal FAQ index
Price not published750 ml; no USD price rendered View on mepal.com
24 out of 100 materials score

Coated, plastic, or unnamed

Touches food16/60
The rest8/25
Backed up0/15

Mainstays Kids 4-Compartment Bento Box

“BPA-free materials” — no resin named, on a children’s food container

Avoid

A children’s lunchbox where “BPA-free materials” is the entire disclosure. No PP, no Tritan, no PE, no resin code anywhere.

And the removable inner tray is described as “microwave-safe for easy reheating” — a microwave claim for an unnamed plastic in direct contact with hot food, marketed for kids.

They claim
"reliable, sturdy, and stain-resistant BPA-free materials"
Made in
UNVERIFIED — not published
Warranty
UNVERIFIED — not published
Heat
Top-rack dishwasher safe; inner tray microwave safe
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • The fork, the spoon and the 2oz dressing container are all food-contact items and none has a stated material. [1]
  • “BPA-free” says nothing about BPS, BPF, phthalates or the base polymer. It is the narrowest available claim and it is doing all the work here. [1]
  • “Reliable, sturdy, and stain-resistant” are the adjectives. None of them is a material. [1]
  • No third-party testing or certification cited. No country of manufacture. No warranty. [1]

Sources (1)

  1. Walmart — Mainstays Kids 4-Compartment Plastic Bento Box
$7.82with removable tray, fork, spoon and dressing container View on walmart.com
21 out of 100 materials score

Coated, plastic, or unnamed

Touches food8/60
The rest13/25
Backed up0/15

PackIt Freezable Lunch Box

“Nontoxic poly canvas” exterior — polymer not identified · “food-safe, water-resistant lining”, unnamed · EcoFreeze gel composition never disclosed

They won't say

The coolant gel sealed into the walls is the entire point of the product, and its chemistry is undisclosed. PackIt’s own technology page describes what the gel does and never what it is.

This is the largest single material gap we found in this category, and there is direct precedent for why it matters.

They claim
"PVC-, BPA-, phthalate-, formaldehyde- and lead-free materials"
Made in
UNVERIFIED — not published
Warranty
90 days — the shortest in this category; exclusions not published
Heat
Wipe or hand wash; not machine or dishwasher safe; dry fully before freezing
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • CPSC recall 12-089, January 2012: California Innovations recalled about 248,000 insulated lunch box sets because “gel that contains diethylene glycol and ethylene glycol can leak out of damaged freezer gel packs, posing a poisoning hazard if ingested”. One dog died; the recall was later expanded. Different manufacturer — but it establishes freezer-gel chemistry in lunch bags as a real recall category, and PackIt’s is unstated. [3] [4]
  • “Nontoxic poly canvas” is a claim without a material. “Nontoxic” is not a regulated term for textiles, and “poly canvas” does not identify the polymer — it could be polyester or polypropylene. [1]
  • A five-substance “free of” list sits on top of an unidentified base material, which is the wrong way round. [1]
  • A 90-day warranty on a $22.99 product whose failure mode is the gel wall splitting — the part that is both unnamed and the reason to own it. [1]

Sources (4)

  1. PackIt Freezable Lunch Box product page
  2. PackIt “Our Technology” — gel composition not disclosed
  3. CPSC recall 12-089 — California Innovations freezer gel packs, January 2012
  4. CPSC — California Innovations expands the gel pack recall
16 out of 100 materials score

Coated, plastic, or unnamed

Touches food16/60
The rest0/25
Backed up0/15

Simple Modern Porter Bento Box

“Case and insert are made of durable BPA-free plastic.” That is the entire material statement — no resin for either part, no seal material.

They won't say

The weakest material disclosure of any product in this category. No resin, for either the case or the insert — and the insert is the microwaveable, food-contact part.

Bentgo at least names ABS, PP and TPE in a manual. Here there is nothing to find.

They claim
"BPA-free plastic"
Made in
UNVERIFIED — not published
Warranty
Limited lifetime against manufacturer’s defects — exclusions written for drinkware
Heat
Insert top-rack dishwasher and microwave safe up to 3 minutes; outer container hand wash only
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • Microwave-safe for an unnamed resin. A three-minute reheat limit is given without saying what is being heated, and microwave behaviour differs substantially between resins. [1]
  • The warranty’s published exclusions are written for drinkware, not for this product: “drinkware that has lost its insulating properties” is irrelevant to an uninsulated plastic bento. It is boilerplate reused across a catalogue, and a buyer cannot tell what is actually covered. [1] [2]
  • A lifetime warranty on a $29.99 plastic box is generous on paper; the full policy document was not reachable from the product page. [1] [2]
  • Country of manufacture is not published. [1]

Sources (2)

  1. Simple Modern Porter Bento Box product page
  2. Simple Modern kids lunch collection
$29.993-compartment insert View on simplemodern.com

Why a lunchbox is worth thinking about at all

A school lunchbox sits in a warm bag for four hours, five days a week, for years, holding food a child eats without question. It is one of the few food-contact items with that combination of warmth, duration and repetition.

The good news: this category has a genuinely simple answer. Stainless steel takes the whole question off the table. No coating, no plasticiser, no recipe. The interesting part is that not all stainless is the same, and the differences are rarely on the label.

The numbers on stainless steel, decoded

“18/8” and “18/10” are not grades — they are chromium and nickel percentages. The actual grades that matter here:

  • 304 (“18/8”) — the standard for food contact. Roughly 18% chromium, 8–10% nickel. Corrosion-resistant, non-magnetic.
  • 430 (“18/0”) — no nickel at all. Cheaper, magnetic, and less corrosion-resistant than 304. Genuinely the low-nickel option, but that is a trade-off, not a free win.
  • 201 — substitutes manganese for nickel to cut cost. Around 5.5–7.5% manganese against 304’s maximum of 2%, and noticeably lower corrosion resistance.

Is 201 dangerous? On the evidence, no. A KTH doctoral study measured manganese release from grade 201 in citric acid at 0.35 mg/L against a Council of Europe limit of 1.8 mg/L — about a fifth of the limit — and found it released markedly less nickel than 304. But it corrodes more readily, and a corroded surface releases more of everything.

The problem is not that 201 exists. It is that one brand here says its boxes are “food-grade stainless steel 201 or 304” and leaves you to guess which one arrived.

What actually to check

  • Is the lid the same material as the tray? This is where sets quietly switch. PlanetBox uses 18/0 for the lid rather than 18/8 — and says so, and explains why: the 400 series holds magnets better. Naming both grades rather than one is why they sit at the top of this category.
  • Is there a plastic part, and does the maker say which plastic? An outer cover that never touches food is a different question from a food-contact one, but “undisclosed resin” is still a gap.
  • Is it leak-proof, and how? Leak-proof almost always means a silicone gasket. If “plastic-free” was your reason for buying, silicone is worth knowing about.
What we are not going to tell you

We have not found evidence that stainless lunchboxes are a meaningful source of anything harmful, and we are not going to imply otherwise to make this page more exciting. The steel grade question is about durability and disclosure, not danger.

Keep reading

All 136 products in one table  ·  Which brands publish anything at all  ·  All guides

Related pages

One useful email a fortnight

New scores, brands that finally answered, and any rule change that affects what you can buy. The list isn’t open yet — email us and we’ll add you when it is.